We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Congress Cafe

South Congress Cafe
1600 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-3522
512-447-3905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

the best bloody marry i've ever had!!!
there could be huge waiting lines- more than an hour- so make a reservation or try not to go there rush hours

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    101
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"THE" Brunch Spot in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the food and mimosas at SoCo Cafe. Every time I go for brunch, it is an excruciating decision to have to choose between the carrot cake french toast and something savory like the crab enchiladas or omelet with that wonderful little potato pancake on the side...I am craving it right now. What usually happens is a table consensus to eat family-style and order one of most things on the brunch menu...okay, maybe not most, but two more than the number of people in our party. The mimosas are a nice addition, and I hear the Bloody Marys are pretty tasty, too. I hate waits, especially when I am hungry in the morning, but I will wait for SoCo Cafe. Once you get a craving for it, nothing else will serve to substitute for the sake of saving a half-hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Awesome food, wonderful service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We dined here for our youngest daughter`s 16th birthday, and couldn`t have been happier with the kindness of the wait staff, or the quality (and quantity!) of the food. Our butternut squash soup starter was a generous portion of a delightfully housemade dish, and the chicken-fried steak was tender and very tasty. Dessert, on the house because of our daughter`s special occasion, was a densely rich peanut butter cheese cake. Ambiance was lovely, with spacious and very comfortable seating arrangements. Make reservations -- we went on a Monday night, and the place was packed! We would most definitely return on our next trip to Austin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great slightly upscale breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice midweek breakfast $12 and up pricing. Enjoyed every bite of my Denver omelet w/caramelized onions. Service was excellent. Should have tried the bloody mary-it looked yummy! So far, I liked everything about this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were in Austin for a wedding and this restaurant was recommended. It was a short walk from our hotel and so we tried it out. Very quaint area and great menu and great brunch. I had the spinach, mushroom and artichoke omelet and my wife had the crab enchillatas. Everything was wonderful- the food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Congress Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.