We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant on SoCo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Congress Cafe

South Congress Cafe
1600 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-3522
512-447-3905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant on SoCo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a lovely place, good fresh food with clever use of flavours, excellent service, good for couples wanting a quiet place to eat on SoCo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    119
    33
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good but a long wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Because this is such a popular place, it seems to always have a crowd. They apparently don't take reservations, but we were told if we called in advance with the time before we arrived, they would hold a table for us. As we had 7 in our group, we did so. When we arrived, were told that they had just set 4 people in their only table that could sit 7 people. After over a 30 minute wait, they pulled two tables together, which was very difficult to have a conversation around the table -- especially considering how loud the restaurant is. While good, it was not worth the hour wait to get a table, have the order taken and to receive the order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a MUST eat at cafe. The food is stunningly good, beautifully presented and of an incredibly high standard - should have Michelin Stars actually. Make an effort and go to this cafe, it really is amazing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem you might walk right by without knowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've lived in Austin 2 years and walked past this place more times than I can count- it just looks like any other diner/restaurant from the outside - BUT, I got caught in the rain 2 weekends ago with friends and we went in to get out of the downpour- we were suprised in a great way.

The inside is a very clean and artsy design - the place itself is just very clean, as well, including the bathrooms.

The menu is not what you'd expect- things ranging from quail egg to pancakes - but all with a culinary flair that will impress you and make you want to go back (I've been back twice now).

The prices can be a tad high - but you are on South Congress which is a major tourist spot, so they are in line with the area, itself. The left side is a bar area with 2-top high tables and counter seating. The right is all dining room with booths and open tables.

I tend to sit at the bar sit at the counter- it's more fun and energetic, and the bartenders are really on their game, either with drinks (they have a great drink menu) or with serving you your food. Haven't run into one that didn't have a great personality yet - they love working there and it shows.

If you go on a weekend, put your name in and give them your cell # so you can go walk around South Congress while you wait for a table to open. I was impressed that they will actually call your cell like that for you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewsiville,Tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The menu underestimates this place, but the line during Sunday brunch is a hint, don't miss this one the next time you travel through! Nothing is bad.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Congress Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.