We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Congress Cafe

South Congress Cafe
1600 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-3522
512-447-3905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 3,158 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a MUST eat at cafe. The food is stunningly good, beautifully presented and of an incredibly high standard - should have Michelin Stars actually. Make an effort and go to this cafe, it really is amazing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    101
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem you might walk right by without knowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've lived in Austin 2 years and walked past this place more times than I can count- it just looks like any other diner/restaurant from the outside - BUT, I got caught in the rain 2 weekends ago with friends and we went in to get out of the downpour- we were suprised in a great way.

The inside is a very clean and artsy design - the place itself is just very clean, as well, including the bathrooms.

The menu is not what you'd expect- things ranging from quail egg to pancakes - but all with a culinary flair that will impress you and make you want to go back (I've been back twice now).

The prices can be a tad high - but you are on South Congress which is a major tourist spot, so they are in line with the area, itself. The left side is a bar area with 2-top high tables and counter seating. The right is all dining room with booths and open tables.

I tend to sit at the bar sit at the counter- it's more fun and energetic, and the bartenders are really on their game, either with drinks (they have a great drink menu) or with serving you your food. Haven't run into one that didn't have a great personality yet - they love working there and it shows.

If you go on a weekend, put your name in and give them your cell # so you can go walk around South Congress while you wait for a table to open. I was impressed that they will actually call your cell like that for you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewsiville,Tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The menu underestimates this place, but the line during Sunday brunch is a hint, don't miss this one the next time you travel through! Nothing is bad.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A SoCo staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Another place in SoCo that you want to get to early or be prepared to wait. Fun and varied menu, but with a definite southwest foudation. It can get really loud in here so don't expect to be able to hear people at the other end of your table if you have a large group. Recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“fell in love with their carrot cake French toast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went with a bunch of gals for a baby shower on a Saturday knowing it will be packed so we got there right at 9am n got seated together all 9 of us! The staff is super nice there esp our waiter..they always kept our water full n never rushed us even when the place started getting packed at 10ish..it was early so felt more like a breakfasty item even tho I heard their sea bass was great..had the spinach portobella artichoke omlette n it was ok..not the best I have had n the potato pancake was ok too but what I fell in love with was the carrot cake French toast! I usually don't even like carrot cake at all but this was more like a super moist n soft carrot bread slightly toasted n powder sugared! It was fantastic n I can see why people could eat this all by themselves ..I would go back just for that n go just as early to park in front too :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Congress Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.