We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful arts center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Center

Long Center
701 W. Riverside Dr., Austin, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful arts center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a beautiful venue to see any number of performances. I have seen dance, opera, and concerts here, and am always satisfied. The acoustics are very good and I have never had a bad seat no matter how high up I was. The facility is very well-run, as well.

Architecturally, it is modern, but comforting at the same time. Worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Best Place for many things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Probably my favorite place to see a show in Austin. There truly is not a bad seat in the house. I have seen so many things here. The sound quality is amazing. I enjoy the Long Center for also hosting the many actives outside. In the summer seeing the free music on Sunday nights to hosting trailers on Tuesdays. This is a gem in the city. I am grateful this is what came out of the old Palmer center and will be here for many more shows in the future. Keep up the good work.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great venue to see live music or other performances. I saw Bon Iver here a couple years ago, and recently saw Winston Marsalis - the facility is really clean, the seating is comfortable, and the ambiance is perfect.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Swing! The Musical was Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really enjoyed the performance! It was refreshingly honest. A few mistakes here and there, but nothing serious. The band drowned out the singers occasionally but overall, an impressive performance!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful center, but not trained ushers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Long Center was very beautiful. My husband and I visited Austin specifically for the Zelda Symphony that took place here. The Austin Symphony orchestra was awesome (especially the choir). The facilities are beautiful, clean, and fun. My only complaint is that the ushers allowed late ticket holders in into the theater DURING the music. We go to symphonies often, and this was shocking to me, because normally they wait for in between movements to allow late people in. It was SO distracting and annoying. That is the only way I see them improving. It would make for a much better experience.
The traffic during a show is not bad. The parking garage is located right next to the center (which is very nice for a metropolitan center.) Parking is $10 however, but it is the only parking nearby.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Center also viewed

 

Been to Long Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.