We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!!! 😎” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evangeline Cafe

Evangeline Cafe
8106 Brodie Ln, Ste 110, Austin, TX 78745-7468
512-282-2586
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy!!! 😎”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

They serve amazing food & service & entertainment. I would go back again. Their dessert is soo yummy!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprise in a strip mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Driving up I thought there must be some mistake, this was a strip mall, surely it cannot have good food. Yet, the food was most excellent. We had a large group and ordered several different dishes. I sampled four of these and was pleased with them all including the stuffed redfish and porkchops. We finished with the Pecan Pistolette, and were all impressed. The decor and the live music were also enjoyable additions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cajun in the Austin Suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Evangeline Cafe was an unexpected surprise. I searched on Tripadviser for a good family seafood restaurant in south Austin and this one popped up. It is hidden in a strip center, where one normally driving would never see. Even though we had had my daughter's two young children the staff was friendly, the food very good and live music was playing as we left. This is a cozy neighborhood place I will return to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cajun in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am not a New Orleans foodie expert, but the food we had at Evangeline Cafe sure looked, smelled and tasted just like what we had in New Orleans. Absolutely wonderful! The po boys were generously packed and delicious.
It was our first visit to Austin, so we readily accepted a recommendation for this restaurant gem that is off the beaten path. The locals know!
Our first lunch was so good that we had to go back a second day. Unfortunately we couldn't get there in the evening for the live music. Service was prompt and friendly; prices are very reasonable. Decor is fun!
Evangeline Cafe does not disappoint!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cajun, Texas style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If your looking for authentic Cajun style cooking in the Austin , Tx. Area, head south of downtown to Evangeline's for everything from poor boy sandwiches to crawfish étouffée. They pack a crowd at lunch and dinner and offer live music in the evening as well. I went all the way and had the seafood dinner and it was fantastic. The wait staff is friendly and although they had a packed house the food came out quickly and hot and tasty. I would definitely go back, if only to try their seafood gumbo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evangeline Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Evangeline Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evangeline Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.