We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in a Strip Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cypress Grill
4404 W William Cannon Dr, Ste L, Austin, TX 78749-1402
512-358-7474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #252 of 3,120 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mopac Expressway
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Find in a Strip Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic French Toast during the weekend breakfast hours. Nice place with a local feel, all around great entrees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    20
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful cajun food in a quaint, friendly atmosphere. The staff really know the menu and specials..professional wait staff. We frequent the restaurant. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy Cajun Catch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Best Cajun food I've had in a long time. The Gumbo was dark, rich, smokey and filled with sweet and peppery andouille sausage. We were on the way to heaven. Then came the crawfish etouffee. Wowie zowie! It came with fried crawfish that had a great cocktail sauce but the batter was a bit too thick for my taste. My wife loved it though. She had the barbeque shrimp in a delicious sauce. Her vegatable was perfectly grilled asparagus finished with "this chef understands salt"sea salt. Outstanding. Finally the desserts were worth leaving some of the main course (there was so much food!). I had the black raspberry cobbler topped with local vanilla ice cream and my wife had the chocolate (the definition of the word) brownie with the same ice cream. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unassuming surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A nondescript strip center restaurant packed a surprise taste wallop. Specials almost every night on food and drinks. Tuesday is shrimp night: boiled, grilled, po' boys. The po' boys are especially good because of the light and crusty bread that is imported from New Orleans. We also like the Greek salad with grilled salmon. The full portion is enough for two people. Menu items included non-seafood and non-Cajun dishes, although we haven't tried any because we love us some seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had the spinach and artichoke dip to begin. The flavor was good, but you could tell there was a heavy amount of butter due to the oil on top. My wife had the pot roast since she isn't a Cajun lover. We didn't expect a Cajun restaurant to have good pot roast, but it was very moist, tender, and had great flavor. I had the crawfish etouffee on white rice. The dish had a healthy amount of crawfish in it thought it would have been nice if there were bigger chunks of meat. The sauce was a more balanced etouffee and I tend to like them a bit spicier. I also would have ordered it on dirty rice next time. Our waiter was friendly, fun, and was full of colorful descriptions of the dishes and recommendations. Overall a good place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cypress Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.