We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bistro style restruant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cypress Grill
4404 W William Cannon Dr, Ste L, Austin, TX 78749-1402
512-358-7474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #182 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mopac Expressway
georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice bistro style restruant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Went on recommendation of staffer from my Austin Office and was really good. The BBQ shrimp and Blackened fish was very good. Our server was very pleasant and not overly attentive. When we went they had a live jazz group that reminded me a little of upper Bourbon Street in NOLA

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent menu of choices and good service too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The menu is chock full of choices that even the pickiest of eaters would be happy here. The service was prompt and accommodating. The food was so good, we went back two nights later for a second meal. The Shrimp Platter with fries is loaded with big shrimp lightly battered so that the flavor is full of shrimp and not just batter. The Shrimp Pasta Rockefeller was so delicious that I want to try to recreate the meal at my home. Too bad I was in town visiting and that I couldn't make this a regular place. Definitely will go back when I'm in Austin again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went here to partly because it was near our hotel and featured live music (Thurs night) What a treat to discover such delicious food at a moderate price .. We were early enough for Happy hour... the margarita was great. The crawfish enchiladas were delicious . We couldn't resist the bourbon chocolate pecan pie OMG!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Consistently on Target”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I love fried catfish and this is the place to be for a scrumptious fried catfish dinner or poor boy. The bread is delicious. I always get a side of red beans and rice to top it off perfectly. I know the strip center locale may not be perfect but the location is close to everything. The staff has always been attentive the times we have been there. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here because of a half-price coupon we purchase from Travel-Zoo's Local Deals.
This restaurant sits in a strip center. Upon entering, we were not too sure what kind of a meal we would be getting. The atmosphere is not the best and quite sparse. A no frills casual dinning family restaurant, yes. A romantic, candle lit, Louisiana restaurant, no. If you can get over this then the food is excellent! Some of the best we have had.

We started with a nice cup of Jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage at 5.39 a cup. I had one of the house specialties, their New Orleans-Style BBQ Shrimp at $13.99 and my wife had their grilled 8 oz filet of Scottish King Salmon topped with their wonderful Crawfish Etouffée. This was by far the best dish at $15.99. Our daughter (who is not into seafood) choose the Chicken Fried Stake. Hey - this is Texas. This "has" to be on any given menu. I have to say it was the biggest serving we have seen. Served with Andouille gravy. Really a great meal and well cooked. She loved it to say the least. $10.49. We all shared a New Orleans Bread Pudding with Bourbon sauce which we wished we had more of. Fantastic. $5.49. Total bill of fare with tip was approx. $50.00. Neither an in-expensive nor expensive meal. The wait staff was excellent, good suggestions and friendly.

BTW, this is not just a Cajun food restaurant. Their menu offers a variety of food. From Burgers to Pot Roast and Pork Chops to Po-Boys. There is something for everybody. They also serve a weekend breakfast. Check their menu out at Cypressgrill.net.

My suggestion to management would be to cover the concrete floor with an inexpensive industrial carpet and maybe cover the tables with some kind of table cloths. Maybe plastic so that they can be cleaned and a paper mat put down after each dining. Maybe a candle at night would make a nice improvement. These would help the restaurant's atmosphere a great deal but still present a casual family place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cypress Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.