We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer lasagna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vespaio

Vespaio
1610 S. Congress St, Austin, TX 78704
512.441.6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Killer lasagna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Before ordering lasagna at Vespaio, the best I lasagna I had ever eaten was prepared from scratch by a fabulous cook at a farmhouse in Tuscany. She made her own cheese & pasta, picked vegetables from her own garden, etc. Vespaio's version had a different flavor than Giovanna's, but it was obviously prepared with the same care and use of well-sourced ingredients. Service was great too. Extensive wine list, mostly from Italy. We will maje it a point to visit Vespaio whenever we get back to Austin!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    85
    23
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Enoteca Vespaio - lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Next door to Ristorante Vespaio, for which you can find hundreds of reviews, is their cafe for casual lunch or dinner. We ate lunch there last week. Their menu has salads, antipasto, panninis and hot entrees. My wife had manicotti which she liked although they use lemon in the sauce which she didn't prefer. I had a muffuletta that I really liked. They have a nice selection of wines by the glass. Also expresso and other coffees and some delicious looking pastries. There is out door seating at tables with umbrellas. We saw others having large salads and a cheese and fruit plate lunch special that looked good. Glad we went.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Homemade Old-World Italian Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I'm Neapolitan, so eating Italian food is like going home sometimes. This visit reminded me of what food made in the small kitchens of Italy taste like. A great memory of homemade goodness by Mama in her big white apron. Noodles hanging on line over the counter. Sauces simmering on the stove. All of these were evoked when the waiter put down our meals the other day.

We went there for my Birthday week to celebrate. Everything is very homemade including the pasta. If you are wanting perfectly massed produced noodles on perfect looking plates, this isn't the place. My butternut squash ravioli was pleasantly over-sized and stretched from boiling with a little heavier texture than store-bought pasta. The sauce was a little uneven with some of the Parmesan settling tp one side of the plate. The walnuts hand mashed and not uniform.

My Love ordered the lasagna made with fresh spinach. It was very green. Perfect for St. Patrick's day, but a little unsettling on a bite-by-bite presentation. There was lots of cheese, meat and sauce and a generous portion. I loved the small spicy link of sausage on top to kick it up a notch if you wanted to.

The prices were a little high, and the food a little too bland, but overall it was definitely a treat to eat at a place that actually hand makes everything, so I'll cut them some slack.

The service could have been a little less "let's move you out and rotate, especially when the place wasn't full when we left. I'm not sure I'll race back here to have another dinner, but it was memorable and the ambiance enjoyable. Love that fact that they have their own free parking on Congress, so no hassle coming and going.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Sublime italian on SoCo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've been here every year for the past 7 I've been going to SXSW. We had the great fortune to discover it on our first trip and make it a point to go back every time. Owners and staff are just great but the food is the draw of course!

They don't take reservations Fri-Sunday so come early (or when the weather is bad you can get in a bit easier) and enjoy the amazing pasta and seafood. Wonderful wine list as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner at Vespaio Ristorante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We have had many dinners at Vespaio over the years. We recently dined there for my wife's Birthday with 2 other couples. The ambience, food, vino and service were all outstanding. Everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed the evening (Sunday, not overly crowded). The prosciutto wrapped scallops were cooked to perfection.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vespaio also viewed

 

Been to Vespaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vespaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.