We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
801 S Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78704-1509 (Zilker Park)
(512) 916-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Cross street: Barton Springs
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We have done both a lot of traveling and a lot of dining, and this place, like few others, belongs in that very top tier of great restaurants.
Not that it is fancy. While it is bright, attractive and interesting, the decor is not the draw. Rather, it is the service, and most especially, the food.
Our server was helpful in many ways. For example, he asked if it was our first time there; when we said it was, he suggested we go either ala carte or do the 6 course tasting menu, drawn from the restaurant's time tested cold and hot specialties, rather than the more adventurous 10 course tasting menu. We were grad we chose the 6 course menu. He also thought both our picks of wine were good, but suggested the Gruner Veltliner over the Viognier. Again, a great choice.
We started with cold sashimi, each more inspired than the last. The flavors are already there in the fish and accompanying flavors--no soy sauce or wasabi was needed at all. Three of the cold plates, then one hot with wonderful fish, rice, egg and seasonings (in a wild sense, like the most flavorful fried rice dish in the world), then a second with silky pork belly, peppers, pickled radish and more--incredible.
This was followed by our choice of one of four desserts. My wife chose the lemon gelato, with pistachios and white balsamic. Heavenly but very light.
This is the kind of food and presentation that makes your whole body, not just your taste buds, glow. The best Japanese/sushi we have ever had. Just a wonderful experience. Go.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    98
    27
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the states!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Ummm....they flying their fish from Japan, their saki is delicious, you have so many choices and waiters that help guide Yalu. Totally the best sushi we have been.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Fresh, modern inventive….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's hard to get a reservation. They take a limited number, but it is mostly walk up trade. They don't really need to take reservations at all as even without them the place would always be packed. The food is so fresh it sparkles, the combinations gorgeous to look at and wonderfully inventive and exciting. The service, of course, matches the high calibre of the food. The price tag, of course, reflects all this. Looking around the dining room, my husband and I thought we spotted more than a few diners on expense accounts! We were on a semi annual visit to Austin and hadn't dined there in a few years, as Austin is so chock-a-block with new places we want to try that we find we often have a tough time getting back to old favourites. So glad we made it this time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Second time back and loved it just as much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Managed to snag a reservation last minute when unexpectedly back in Austin. Love the space and the food is amazing. I tend to like "plain" nigiri which highlights the fish since a lot of sushi places do odd combos just for the sake of it. Uchi manages to have really unique combos which hi light the fish but also make for an interesting mix of flavors.

We had the same server as last time (John) who was great with the recommendations (especially since their menu can be a little overwhelming without assistance). Standouts for me are the Uchiviche, Hama Chili, Pork Belly and the #1 foie gras nigiri. The foie gras is the perfect bite for "dessert" at the end of the meal.

We'd like to try Uchiko sometime when in town but because they don't have the foie gras on the menu, we keep reverting back to the mothership.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth all the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place was definitely worth all of the hype. Everything we tasted was delicious and fresh - from the sushi standards to the chef's personal and exciting creations. We also loved the service - our waitress was helpful and made some fantastic recommendations. We couldn't stop ordering more and more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.