We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice large bar, very comfortable . Great decor, clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Tapas & Bar

Malaga Tapas & Bar
440 West 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-236-8020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Malaga Tapas & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #479 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice large bar, very comfortable . Great decor, clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved the tapas plate shrimp,delicious sauce, fabulous fried goat cheese balls!
Many more! Drinks were great
Appreciate the owner coming over to check on us! Live the photo on the ladies room!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    53
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pharr, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I really liked the place, the music, the service was excellent, the wine... but to be honest, I wasn't very impressed with the food, and I can't really put my finger on it, but I expected better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy Hour & Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Malaga is a very nice tapas bar, located at one of Austin's hot spots: 2nd St.
The service is nice and polite - some of the waiters they do speak Spanish - and the food is really good. Authentic Spaniard tapas with a kick. Try the watermelon and tuna and the empanadas salamanca. The wine list is also very good. They have some happy hour specials: $4 tapas from 4 to 7pm. They have a valet service - which is always good when parking is hard to find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do not go there!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Worst tapas restaurant ever.
Not spanish food at all. The chef needs to learn what tapas are. Food was more like small bad , bit really bad mexican plates !
Not even worth the time to write a review.
If you like good food, I hope you take this review seriously and don't make the same mistake I made by coming here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Desastre!!! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Do not come here!
This is not spanish tapas at all.
I could spend a long time writting the worst review ever, but it is not even worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Tapas & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Malaga Tapas & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Tapas & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.