We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas on the run in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Tapas & Bar

Malaga Tapas & Bar
440 West 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-236-8020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Malaga Tapas & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #442 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: San Antonio
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Tapas on the run in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good locale, great espanole atmosphere, knowledgeable servers for pairings and tastes. Overall a great experience for 7, tremendous variety of meats, cheese, seafoods, vegan dishes. Good Sangria well worth the visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    53
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great start to the evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Started here on an early Friday night recently. Had a few glasses of wine and some tapas. The artichoke dip was great, and the goat cheese balls. Waiter was attentive without being in your face; great place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you like Tapas, this is a must visit. Started stopping at this restaurant when they were in their last location. New facility is larger and can handle more patrons.Food is still outstanding and they have a decent wine list. However, we prefer to do a wine flight with our meal. Tried the Spanish rioja wine flight and was pleasantly pleased with 3 of the 4 served. Restaurant has both inside and street side dining. Outside is great if the weather cooperates. Inside is well laid out and well lit. Wait staff was attentive and the food came quickly.We always appreciate the great food we get here and enjoy sharing it between us.
The only negative is parking. Hard to find a spot anywhere close, so either valet park or use the public garage around the corner. And be prepared-it is not inexpensive to park in the garage, so I suggest you let the valet handle it for you. It ran $15 to self park in the garage.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“These are not very authentic tapas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really like Malaga when it was at its old location and before I lived in DC (with Jose Andres' great tapas restaurant Jaleo) and traveled to Spain. Upon returning to Malaga, I was appalled that it's still in business. The quality is average and these are definitely not very authentic. When I asked the waiter about the different tapas, he went on and on about how authentic they were and they he had worked in the best tapas restaurant in Dallas (!) Even setting aside the inauthenticity, they're just not that great. Some were over-seasoned, others incredible bland. The wine was good, but we were unimpressed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a girls weekend in Austin and Malaga was our dinner destination of choice. This was a great suggestion by our friends that live in Austin because our food was amazing! Each person ordered a couple different items and everything we ordered was delicious. I went back to Austin a few months later and we ended up at Malaga for brunch...which was even better than the dinner we had a few months prior.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Tapas & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Malaga Tapas & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Tapas & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.