We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dart Bowl Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Dart Bowl Cafe
5700 Grover Ave, Austin, TX 78756
(512) 459-4181
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,414 of 2,939 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In searching for restaurants near Mom’s care facility, I had read and heard good things about Dart Bowl Café, even from the chef at her facility. I was sadly disappointed with our experience there. “Burgers and Enchiladas” was supposedly their forte. We had both, and neither passed muster.

The burger wasn’t bad, but the patty was not even a quarter inch thick, and cooked on a griddle. It reminded me of a Someburger, if anyone is familiar with that chain, only not as good. The enchiladas were cheese, which is the only option, and not all that tasty, and the flower tortillas were on the tough side, both on the enchilada as well as the ones served with the meal. The rice and beans were OK, but not noteworthy in any way.

Service was OK, although I had to wait on my order of enchiladas because of a simple error, but that doesn’t really affect this review. Things happen, and this was just one of those things. Value? The meal was $22 for the three of us, which isn’t bad, especially since there was a lot of food on the enchilada platter. But value for quality and quantity was just average.

Bottom line is we will not be going back. Austin Diner has better enchiladas, more meat variety and a choice of sauces. Plus it had meat and veggie plates as well as burgers. It’s the best we have found so far, but our search continues.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A step back in time and worth the journey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Bowling brings back memories of growing up in a small town with few attractions besides the bowling alley. A couple of time a year I grab the kids and we go bust some pins. Dart Bowl is our favorite and one of the reasons is the cafe. As you walk in the restaurant it feels like you are stepping back in time and the only thing missing is a jukebox (although they may have one). There are daily specials to keep the regulars coming in, but my favorites are the cheeseburger or the enchiladas.The prices aren't from the 60's or 70's, but they could be from the 80's! The cafe is a local icon so you'll see an interesting mix of people, many who have been coming for years. Count me in that group.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really good burgers for a bowling alley. Sorta quaint in a way, but reminds me of a 50's burger joint

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“No service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We decided to eat at Dart Bowl while waiting for a lane. We sat down and waited....and waited....and waited. The waitress made no attempt to help us even as she made eye contact with us. Finally, after she started to wait on a table that came in several minutes (like 15 minutes) after us we decided to leave. After further observation, the waitress was only interested in helping customers who were her friends. We went to Dan's down the street and had a good burger. We returned and our lane was ready. When I told the person at the desk what happened, she gave me the manager's number and encouraged me to call him because there have been numerous complaints regarding the restaurant and its service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most excellent enchiladas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As much as it is a bowling alley, it is also a very good restaurant with an impressive Austin heritage. First time there - granddaughter's birthday bowling party. The staff did a perfect job of hosting and coordinating the birthday event. The restaurant was an unexpected bonus. The owner stopped and talked with us, explained his business history and philosophy. Much of his staff has been with him for generations. You won't find better enchiladas!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dart Bowl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Dart Bowl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dart Bowl Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.