We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dart Bowl Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Dart Bowl Cafe
5700 Grover Ave, Austin, TX 78756
(512) 459-4181
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,376 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Steakhouse, Café
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really good burgers for a bowling alley. Sorta quaint in a way, but reminds me of a 50's burger joint

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“No service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We decided to eat at Dart Bowl while waiting for a lane. We sat down and waited....and waited....and waited. The waitress made no attempt to help us even as she made eye contact with us. Finally, after she started to wait on a table that came in several minutes (like 15 minutes) after us we decided to leave. After further observation, the waitress was only interested in helping customers who were her friends. We went to Dan's down the street and had a good burger. We returned and our lane was ready. When I told the person at the desk what happened, she gave me the manager's number and encouraged me to call him because there have been numerous complaints regarding the restaurant and its service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most excellent enchiladas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As much as it is a bowling alley, it is also a very good restaurant with an impressive Austin heritage. First time there - granddaughter's birthday bowling party. The staff did a perfect job of hosting and coordinating the birthday event. The restaurant was an unexpected bonus. The owner stopped and talked with us, explained his business history and philosophy. Much of his staff has been with him for generations. You won't find better enchiladas!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great Southern Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Great food and good service. I recommend the Patty Melt or the Enchiladas.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Dart Bowl Cafe. it is in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Dart Bowl Cafe. it is in no way a steak house!!! best damn enchiladas in the world served with fried eggs on top. damn good burgers 2, and GRILLED CHEESE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dart Bowl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Dart Bowl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dart Bowl Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.