We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Traviata

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Traviata
314 Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701-4024 (Downtown)
(512) 479-8131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 3,124 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat. Visited Austin and had lunch here. Had myself the chopped salad, and it was great. Good atmosphere, I recommend getting there before 12 if for lunch. Pasta also looked delicious.. A plus

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    21
    31
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good Italian fare in downtown Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are in the downtown area and are looking for Italian food, this is the place. I had eaten here a couple of years ago while visiting the city and dropped in on a recent visit to Austin. Everything was just as I remembered. Good food and friendly service. If you are in the mood for pasta I would suggest pasta with bolognese sauce. Nice downtown location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Italian in a bistro atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tucked in among multiple store fronts, this is a great find. We were in Austin on a trip and a friend of the owner recommended it to us. Thank you!
A choice of interesting salads starts you off. My wife enjoyed the beet salad, while I ate prosciutto nestled in Belgian endive. My wife had the spaghetti with Bolognese sauce which was TO DIE FOR. Luckily she shared with me. I enjoyed the rigatoni with spicy lamb meatballs. Great service and a fairly-priced wine list with some interesting choices topped off the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I work in downtown Austin and this is one of my favorite lucnh spots. Absolutely the best ceasar sald in town and the bolobnese sauce can't be beat, on spaghetti or ravioli. They have daily speciasl that are always appetizing also. The chicken parmigan is fantastic!

Get here early though because they fill up fast. It is a tiny place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian food in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The restaurant is in a lovely old brick building, with a pressed tin ceiling. It was not busy the night we were there. The service and food were excellent, and the atmosphere relaxing. The Carpaccio with fried radicchio was spectacular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Traviata also viewed

 

Been to La Traviata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Traviata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.