We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Nous

Chez Nous
510 Neches St, Austin, TX 78701-3710 (Downtown)
+1 512-473-2413
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,159 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: French, Continental, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Bistro since 1982
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steak in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice to find a french restaurant in Austin. Friendly service and casual ambiance. It is just off 6th St, so very central all the night life.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    44
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my fave restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Super delicious food!!! Excellent service and pretty nice place. A little piece of France in Austin. I love and recommend the chocolate mousse and the salmon patte.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I really wanted to like this place. As a frequent traveler to France, I was eagerly anticipating a little bit of Paris in Austin. To begin with, we were presented with a basket of bread that must have come from a nearby convenience store. It was tough and tasteless. The carrot-ginger soup was extremely bland. My salade verte never arrived. My main, the duck confit, was dry and stringy. The only saving grace of the entire meal was a fairly decent chocolate mousse. I will not be returning to Chez Nous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Who would think that there is an authentic French restaurant in Central Texas? Chez Nous is absolutely wonderful: consistently great food, warm and friendly service, and a cozy atmosphere. The fixed price menu is a great opportunity to combine soup/pate/ or salad with a choice of entrees, plus desert, all at a very reasonable price. It's best to arrive by their 6 PM opening time, especially on weekends, as they fill up fairly quickly.
In a city with great restaurant choices, Chez Nous is our favorite for making any occasion a special one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We looked at the small menu and was expecting good things. We were not disappointed. There was nothing really child friendly but our 3yr old eats the same as us, if hours doesn't and requires child friendly choices I would not bother. It was busy, the service was fairly good. The wines were a little pricey for such small glasses. All in all we spent 120$ for the set menu for 2 3 glasses of wine and an orangina. So compared with the other local eateries its pricey. You won't be unhappy with the quality though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Nous also viewed

 

Been to Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Nous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.