We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Migas tacos and iced lattes on the fly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jo's

Jo's
1300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704
(512) 444-3800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Bargersville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Migas tacos and iced lattes on the fly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Breakfast tacos are a staple in Austin Texas and Jo's on South Congress does them right. Paired with their custom coffee drinks and a covered patio to read your paper in the shade, Jo's is a great stop on your way to work in the morning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I enjoy the coffee at Jo's, and it is in a great spot for people and dog watching. The breakfast tacos that folks recommended to me I will pass on in the future, however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best french fries in area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Best french fries in the area! REasonably affordable and great food. Everything here is amazing the service is excellent. It seems like people who work there really enjoy. Great coffee spot and offers an outdoor patio. With a walk up order area.
This place on 2nd street is highly recommended if you like good food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“SoCo Meets Caffeine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Admittedly, I'm not a coffee purist. I like foo foo coffee drinks, what can I say? So my overall rating may be a bit of a misnomer. I opted for an iced Mocha Latte which I found to be a bit too bitter and really heavy on the coffee when what I should have ordered was probably the Turbo. Staff was friendly and it's a great place to sit outside and people watch on a nice day. Even better, they offer a restroom which can be rare on SoCo. Next time I'm in the area, I'll definitely give the Turbo a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best photo op, and an amazing turbo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My favorite photo op in Austin. The side of Jo's has a romantic bit of graffiti that is the subject of many tourist, engagement, wedding, and everyday photos!
If you want an amazing coffee mix go for the turbo! I'm sure it's loaded with calories but its delicious and let's face it, if you're walking S Congress in the summer, you'll sweat those calories out in no time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo's also viewed

 

Been to Jo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.