We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was more than I expected. The room was spacious. The service was great. Easy access to and from the freeway with little to no noise in your room from the traffic. Location is near a shopping center which has a Target. Caddy corner there is a Specs. The manager Jay made my stay great by asking me everyday if there was anything he could do to make my stay more enjoyable. The staff was helpfull with directions and an easy check in and out. When requested items for the room they were promptly delivered. The room was very clean room and modern. This is not your usual Rodeway Inn. If you want to stay in a classy hotel at a reasonable price this is the place for you. Complimentary breakfast was great. I slept like a baby. Thank you Jay and your staff, keep up the excellent work. See you next time.

Room Tip: Call Jay ahead of time and tell him what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
69
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This property was in a great location if you have a car. It's not walking distance from much, but is very easy to get back and forth from driving. It was clean, comfortable, and the management was very considerate. If you're looking to save money on a room, this is a great option. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in your room, I would recommend somewhere with better humidity control (it was cool but damp)... For the type of property it is, this one is excellent,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with excellent customer service!! Definitely will stay here again!! A little hard to find but not that hard! Started off a little rough but it got better...the shower was tricky to figure out but you pull down!! Lol

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Totally renovated rooms. Feels like a different hotel when you are in your room. Manager Jay works very hard to take care of guests. Easy access to UT. Recommend for anyone on a tight budget. Rooms area quite and air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having stayed in Austin downtown many, many times for business, I booked here based on the Trip Advisor reviews. Since this was on my own dime, I wanted to spend my money on entertainment instead of lodging. Big mistake! Although parking downtown is expensive, driving in the greater Austin area was an absolute horror show. Additionally, the location of this property is like a nightmare scavenger hunt- forget using GPS or maps. Located behind a restaurant, on a one-way access road, parallel to a confluence of about six major highways (that have about 26 different numbers), if you arrive at night, you have absolutely no chance of figuring out where the heck you are. By the time I finally found this place, I was really thankful that the adjoining restaurant could serve me up a nice cold Corona- or six!
The room was great, especially for the price. Yes, the beds are wonderful and the rooms are quiet. Unfortunately, one day housekeeping skipped us (although they emptied the trash) even though we were out of the room by 11:30 a.m.
All things considered, for me, I'll stay back downtown again next time. Although there are things I do up North and on the East side, it's so much easier to negotiate from downtown than via the highway corridor. The hotel, although acceptable, was not certainly not compelling enough to outweigh all the hassles of traffic, access and other inconveniences (limited food options, no walking access to anything, sketchy neighborhood).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Manager Jay was great and very friendly. Room is spacious and clean. When we checked in, there was no towel in the room. After calling Jay for towel, cleaning lady brought towels right the way and Jay brought another set personally too. Very good location. We came from Houston and visited family for the weekend. The motel is right at corner of 290 and 35, minutes to downtown. Will definitely stay here next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just got back from a five-night stay with my boyfriend. Jay and staff went above and beyond with helping us out in every way they could. We ended up arriving hours before we were supposed to check-in. With are room not yet available, we were intending on just sitting in the lobby and relaxing after our plane ride. Instead, Jay surprised us by giving us a free upgrade to a king suite since that was the only room available at the time. This gesture was so unexpected and so kind. We were very appreciative!

We were really happy with the room. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was also very quiet as we barely heard any of the surrounding people or the traffic.

Jay and staff were very kind and took great care of us. Any questions we had, they would gladly answer. They suggested great places to eat and places to visit and even called taxi cabs for us. I highly recommend staying with them. They helped make our stay in Austin wonderful. We both hope to return soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.