We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Memphis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn twice, once for 4 nights and the other just one night. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It has been recently renovated. The beds are extremely comfortable - we slept very well all the nights we stayed there. The bathrooms are small, not something that can be helped, I suppose. Watch out for the water in the shower - it can change temps on you very quickly. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. This hotel is in a good location, close to downtown but convenient to get back to the interstate if needed. And the restaurant out front has great breakfast - omelets are huge! Highly recommend you stay here, and call to book a negotiated rate if possible. Might save you a little bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
65
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went by the reviews and were not disappointed. Clean room, lovely comfy bed and a lovely welcome from Jay. Our sat Nav couldn't find it so note that it is on the 290 EAST EXIT 238A. Next to a Mexican restaurant that looks like a miniature Sydney opera house ..but I can assure you that the Saturday night karaoke certainly didn't live up to such standards but the food was really good and cheap. The hotel is quite a way from the main town so you really need to have a car to get around. Lots of FREE parking and wifi. Breakfast is the strict minimum - coffee, juice, cereal and muffins if you get there early!! We booked via booking.com for 175$ for 2 nights which we found cheap compared to town centre prices. Thanks to the staff for this nice clean, new hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: If you can't carry luggage upstairs to 1st floor, ask for ground floor room and you can park in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were driving to Austin without a hotel on a football weekend and needed help. Turned to Tripadvisor and read about Roadway Inn close to campus. It was hard to believe for the price it could be that good. IT WAS!! Rooms were so nice that we felt we were at one of the downtown higher end hotels. The plus was that the front desk was so hospitable. Jay was personality and charm, attending to all our requests! It took us 5 minutes to jump on freeway and get to the UT campus. We actually liked being away from all the congestion of downtown. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Positives:
- The check in person, Jay, is very friendly and wants to talk to you like your a member of his family when you check in, which is always good in terms of being welcomed to a hotel.

- The maid service is excellent. I watched them do a thorough cleaning of my room.

- Very close to the freeway, however, you don't hear ANY road noise.

- BIGGEST POSITIVE: THEY DO NOT RENT TO LOCALS, which means ZERO chance of the hotel being used for drugs or prostitution. Very smart move by Jay.

Negatives:

- Small bathroom.

- Breakfast is limited to cereal, muffins and orange juice.


Bottom line: This hotel is TOP 10 in Austin for a reason, which you don't really associate Rodeway Inn's with being a best hotel, however, if you give this place a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

By far the best service of the nine hotels we stayed in across the southwest in the last three weeks. Also the least expensive. Best hotel manager I've run into. Great advice about what to do in Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snyder, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed there this weekend, great place, newly remodeled, very clean. Restaurant was VERY Good !!!! Great stay for the price. Location is good easy to get to most anything quickly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best part is the friendly staff. Jay made my stay perfect with his personal touch. He could be seen out walking the property...on top of every aspect of this hotel business. Room was quiet and comfortable...no highway sounds despite the locale at 35 and 290. If I had to say anything about drawbacks, it would be the slim-pickings at the continental breakfast. For the value and convenient location, the Rodeway is the only place I'll ever stay in Austin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites is newly renovated and conveniently located near two major highway veins in Austin, Texas. We are 200 yards east of the intersection of Interstate 35 and US 290 East. Our property has 48 guest rooms which are equally spaced over two floors and features a newly remodeled outdoor pool. A continental breakfast is served from 6:30-9:30 a.M. On weekdays and from 7:00-10:00 a.M on weekends. The guest rooms offer FREE WiFi Wireless internet, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Televison, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.