We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formula 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circuit of The Americas

Circuit of The Americas
9201 Circuit of the Americas Blvd, Austin, TX 78617
512 301 6600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Race Car Tracks, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Formula 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Amazing experience! Tickets were expensive but worth it. Place is large, parking is expensive but the experience is great. There are many different attractions nearby.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    79
    27
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis,
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quite a place but the service was a little too disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The dirt path toward the Formula 1 track was too long for a walk. As the shuttle buses coming from downtown Austin does not go all the way to the main race area. But the venue itself was astounding. The first year we attended, the people/vendors who used to shuttle people in and out of the main venue were horrible and discriminatory. They were supposed to shuttle through golf carts seniors, people with disabilities and with medical conditions. But we saw young women who were transported who were able and strong. We complained about this through the organizers. They at least apologized for this lack of good service and mentioned that the idea of shuttling people through golf carts will be phased out. Nonetheless, the F1 track and the concession stands were great and impressive. Although it could be all too loud, as all F1 races are, so better be prepared to use high quality earplugs/phones....Regular earplugs still do not block all those loud roars from the cars.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The tour off season is a good place to take guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We took out of town guests on the tour of the Circuit of the Americas off season. It was a very cold day, and it would have been more fun if the weather was nice, but we still had a great time and are glad we went. The tour is not long, we viewed the area where they hold concerts (which I had been curious about) and took the elevator (some walked) up the 25 story tower which looks out over the whole race track. This gives you a great view and you can see most of the track from up there. It's also a bit of a thrill to be way up there - there is a glass floor where you can look straight down. We were able to ask a lot of questions about the race, the track and other events held there. The tour could take anywhere from 30 to 45 minutes (or more) depending on your pace. Since it was cold, we didn't stay long. The tour guides recommended several places to have lunch nearby; we took them up on Wild Bubba's just up the street - very unique!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great job with F1 race”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I attended the USGP Formula1 race at COTA this November and was pretty pleased with the way everything was run.

The start with the tickets to the event was not auspicious. Tix ordered through Ticketmaster were not distributed until the week before the event and no news of when they would be sent had many people worried that they would not receive them in time before leaving to go to Austin. I got mine in time, but not without a bit of worry. I don't know if this was the fault of Ticketmaster or the track. I will say that the track made provision for people who had left home before receiving their tickets (the case probably with many overseas visitors) to pick them up at will-call even if the tix had been sent to them. Another nice touch was to trade the typical computer-style Ticketmaster tickets for the nice-looking souvenir tickets at conveniently-place info tents at the track. My only other complaint about the tickets was the fact that Ticketmaster charged $15 to MAIL them to me by regular mail. That was in addition to the other handling fees they usually charge. Please, COTA, next year have them available when they're ordered, or better yet, have a print-at-home option.

As far as the prices and availability of hotels in the Austin area, that's not really the fault of COTA. With 120,000 people coming to the race and 100,000+ attending a UT-Okla State football game, you know the hotels are going to profiteer. However, next year the race will be on a non-game weekend and there should be a little more availability.

The transportation system, imo, was handled well. Yes, $100 a day to park at the track is a lot, but there is limited space there. And why would you want to drive to the track when you could take a nice, air-conditioned bus from downtown for $5 or park in a satellite lot and be bused in for $10 or $20? The bus shuttles were great, with the only problem being the half-mile walk from the shuttle stop to the track. It was okay on the way there, but was like a "death march" after the 90-degree day at the track. There must be some way to move this closer to the gates.

Food and drink options were decent. Prices were high, but not really out of line for a major sports event or concert. Ditto for souvenir stands, which were high-priced, but sold at the same prices that these items are sold for online all year.

Sightlines for the race from both grandstands and general admission areas were excellent for a road-racing circuit. Somebody said it was better at Indy. Well, yeah, but that's a banked oval, which means you can see the whole track from most spots.

Bus transit around the course was great, important for a spread-out 3-mile long track.

Big screen TV's to see the race were spread around the track and worked well.

Given how hot the day was (actually a record for the area), a little more shade would have been nice, but there was some and I was satisfied with this aspect.

The free concert each day after the racing was nice, and I wanted to stay and see Pitbull after the race, but it was just too darn hot.

Fan Fest in downtown Austin was also a lot of fun. I'm not sure if COTA had anything to do with that.

In all, a great weekend, and I'll be back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“2nd year and getting better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First I do have to agree with the lower ratings that in it's first year of operation things were very disorganized, especially the vendors. From what I understand all concessions were attended by volunteers which would explain the poor service. I attended both F1 and MotoGP. MotoGP had pretty good motorcycle parking.

In 2013 I attended F1 again and things were a lot better organized, especially parking. Traffic is still pretty heavy, but that's expected. I'll be heading back out for MotoGP in April 2014 & I'm sure things will continue to improve.

The track is pretty good for both of these events, and even general admission locations are pretty decent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Circuit of The Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circuit of The Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.