We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #2 of 182 hotels in Austin
Richmond, United States
1 review
“This is our second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 5 times and the reason we go back is that the staff is very friendly and helpful. Also is well located, within walking distance of all major places in downtown, and short drive from other places like Barton Springs, Lake Austin, Oasis. The hotel is clean, bed is so comfortable, the rooms are big, and the sofa is also comfortable if you have a king bed, and the sofa for 2 more. They have complimentary breakfast, and the gallery menu has good sandwiches, and the prices seem reasonable. My husband uses the fitness room and the pool, and he has no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Claudia P:

Thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel. We love to hear that you have stayed with us as many times as you have, and we appreciate you taking the time out to let us know about your stay. It is guest reviews that continue to help us improve and make sure we are offering the best stay possible. We hope to see you on your next stay in our great city.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    76
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
66
75
11
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is very good. Just a few blocks from sixth street where the nightlife is. The staff is very good and offered us a room on the east side away from the construction noise. We were visiting family over Thanksgiving that had just moved to Austin a few months earlier so we were chauffeured around most of the time and did not take advantage of the breakfast. I thought the small divider between rooms was a little cheesy and I wish they we had a microwave. However, everything is brand new and it is overall a very good place to stay downtown for the money. The next time we visit family in Austin we will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side to avoid construction on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Bluestourist:

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Our staff is amazing and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service they offered. And thank you for the suggestion on the microwave. We do have them available in our guest kitchen area should you find yourself back in our hotel anytime in the near future, our front desk staff will be happy to show you where they are located.

We do look forward to your next visit with us.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is located right downtown in a great location. Very easy to walk to bars and great restaurants. The room was beautiful and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the front desk staff - so friendly and funny! The breakfast buffet in the morning was great - very attentive staff and awesome coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Jill D:

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We love that you enjoyed the locaitno and the cleanliness of the rooms. Our front desk staff receives so many wonderful compliments, we love to hear great compliments on them.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the Austin area.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatineau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the minute I walked in the lobby to my check-out, the staff always made me feel important. Special thanks to Dave who took the time to show me where to go for everything. The room was clean and spacious. I was told about the renovations and place in a room where I didn't hear or notice anything. The location is perfect if you have to attend a show at the Convention Center. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Poirier_al:

Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review on our property, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms are very spacious, indeed. We love that you liked the location and hope to see you again on your next trip to the Austin area.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Palce Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very good, but somewhat pricy hotel. Excellent continental breakfast. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Poorly designed heating/ac system in the hotel rooms. Convenient downtown location close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We value your feedback and always share the guest experience with our operations staff so that we can improve everyday. You will be happy to hear that we have changed some details on the air vents in the rooms so your experience should not happen again.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was a great hotel. Not only was the staff fantastic, the rooms are really nice and the location is central. We were working at the Austin Convention Center, a mere block away! There are plenty of good restaurants all within walking distance, too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Bonita M:

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time out to send us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We find that so many of our guests love our location, especially those that have a convention at the convention center.

Hopefully you were able to enjoy some of the great restaurants only steps away from our front door.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon.
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Accomodations were excellent. Good Value. Breakfast was tasty and easily accessed. Bathroom was clean and roomy with great water pressure! I would recommend staying here for any activities in the Austin Downtown area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jeri H:

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We love to hear our guests feedback on the rooms and the staff. We will make sure to share your experience with everyone, thank you again!!

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.