We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for exploring!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #2 of 183 hotels in Austin
san antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for exploring!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there as it was a new Hyatt and wanted to check it out. Location is awesome; downtown and highly walkable. We even went on the Austin Light Rail (who knew Austin even had a Light Rail) as it was one block away from the hotel.
The hotel is great; lots of natural light in rooms, especially those on higher floors as they have floor to ceiling windows. Everything is clean and modern. Front desk is helpful and cheery with lots of eats and drinks suggestions. I like this Hyatt better than the Town Lake location, especially because the rooms are much bigger, with a separate area for TV and sitting.





Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Fruma:

Thank you for the lovely review on our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the great things that our city has to offer, especially our wonderful restaurants. We do receive many comments on the rooms and how spacious and comfortable they are.

We will make sure to share your review with our staff and managers. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    79
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
78
81
11
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife are currently traveling the States from Australia on holiday and stayed at this hotel earlier in the week. Firstly i have to say that we are a younger couple however well travelled and have visited the States the last 3 yrs visiting many different areas and also staying at countless hotels of similar class.I booked this hotel main based on price and the reviews in tripadvisor. I was not disappointed with our choice. We arrived late at night after more than 20hrs of flying so you can imagine how tired mentally drained we were. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted with a very warm and genuine welcome. The front desk staff allocated a beautiful room on level 18 - room 1833 corner room top floor. What a start, we knew we did well with our selection of hotel. The room was very large, good size bathroom, very contemporary with all the mod cons including new large flat screen tv. The gym area is very well set up with all new top class equipment - cardio machines rate a special mention as these all appear new with large tv built in and unique programs that allow you to run on tracks from around the world.The overall condition of the hotel is very good and very well maintained. As mentioned above we have stayed in many hotels before, one thing that annoys me is constantly paying for extras. This hotel is different, breakfast is included, free wifi and free access to the computers and printers in the lobby to print boarding passes - what a refreshing change. The location is also very handy for people visiting in holidays. 10min walk to congress st bats, less than 10mins walk to 6th street and visitor centre and less than 15mins to congress building. the service is second to none and in my opinion is perhaps what also helps set this hotel apart. It is the little things. I rented a car, I needed to park it for 2hrs before I checked out, the valet kindly offered to park it for me during this time without charge. I rarely write reviews and feel guilty for not doing so as I benefit myself from them therefore have committed to start now. I recommend this hotel without reservation, excellent friendly staff, clean modern hotel in an excellent location - what more can you ask?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Moretonbrisbane:

I want to start out by saying that I truly enjoyed reading your review of our property. It means so much to us that you took the time out to write about our property and tell us about your experience. We truly value what our guests think of their stay and the hotel, your review was a delight to read.

How wonderful that you are able to travel with your wife an experience the States, we are happy that we were able to be a part of your memories. It sounds like you were able to spend some time in the city experiencing wonderful outings such as seeing the bats on Congress Bridge, visiting 6th street and the visitors center. Hopefully you were able to get out and see some live music and taste some of the great food we have here in Austin.

It sounds like you enjoyed the guest rooms as well. We are pleased to hear that you found them to be comfortable and spacious. We get many great comments on our guest rooms and the wonderful amenities in our hotel, we will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Again, thank you for the great review, and please come and see us again on your next trip to our great city of Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Newer hotel (4 months old?) in a great location near all the nice restaurants on the other side of 2nd, 6th street Soco and walking area along lake. hotel staff very nice, though not as well versed in the area as they could be (told us cab ride to Domain mall should run around $15-$20 when it was really $40! one way) The room itself and whole property were clean and new. nice room size. only stayed 3 nights. On our 2nd full day we left room at 10 am back at 4pm and still no maid service. minor issue as they brought us new towels, but still.... breakfast better than average, clean and well stocked with some fresh foods available. We didn't have a car, and walked up to UT campus, took 100 bus back, no problem. Soco has some cool, very expensive "shabby chic" shops. Music everywhere. Moody Theatre is a great venue if you get a chance to catch a show. Word of warning. 6th street on a Saturday night is for the Very Young. :) but fun to see anyway. Would definitely stay at this property again vs most of the others downtown.

Room Tip: lower rooms on street side will be louder,,.... they offered ear plugs on the bedside tables (maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
To Tourist2ct:

We would like to say thank you for the review of your very recent stay at our hotel. We did just open this last March, so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and all that our city has to offer. We are most definitely close to so many wonderful attractions in Austin, it sounds like you were able to check out some of them.

Thank you for the feedback on the cost of the cab to the Domain, we will make sure to share your experience with the staff to ensure they are giving accurate information.

It sounds like you had such a wonderful time checking out such places as South Congress and the Moody Theater. This is an amazing music venue, indeed!!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Austin.
Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As I stayed here two nights, I had several opportunities to observe all levels of the hotel staff. Every one was cheerful, helpful and well trained in their area of responsibility. Parking is in a garage, valet goes out of their way to serve. The dining and service staff worked with a pleasant smile. The front desk makes sure you are served properly. (I asked for help twice and they were quick to respond.) From my room window I counted 10 nice sit down restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Papaw445:

What a fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Austin and it sounds like you were able to get out a bit and experience the entire hotel. We do pride ourselves in our staff as they are so accommodating at any hour of the day in every area of the hotel.

We are so glad that you liked the hotel, we look forward to having you return on your next trip to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel over Labor Day weekend. It is in a great location in downtown Austin. There are good restaurants close by and it is in walking distance to the South Congress Bridge. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff was helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Gail324:

We would like to say thank you for your review on our hotel during your trip to Austin over Labor Day weekend. We most definitely have a great location if you want to check out shopping, great restaurants, live music or just do sight seeing. Hopefully you were able to peak around the great stores on Congress Avenue, there is so much to choose from.

Thank you for your great comments on the guest rooms and staff as well. We truly value the opinions of our guests and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My father and I went to the International Sports Car Weekend at Circuit of the Americas from September 19-23. We wanted a moderately-priced, clean, secure hotel in Downtown to relax in after several big days. Not only was this hotel perfectly placed in Downtown, but it's rooms were spacious and very comfortable. No complaints... everything worked perfectly. Also, the breakfast is very good quality. The ONLY qualm I have is that there is no hotel restaurant, but then again, it's surrounded by many top-quality chain restaurants so it wouldn't quite make sense. All in all, incredibly smooth and a great experience. I highly recommend...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Beck D:

What a fantastic review, thank you very much. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to catch a race at the track here in Austin, what a great experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice while in our great city with your father. Our location is most ideal if you want to truly experience what our great city has to offer or dine in any of our fantastic restaurants that are only steps away from our front door.

The rooms are very spacious, indeed. We hope you were able to kick back and relax after a long day at the track in our cozy corner couch.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff;hotel was extremely clean and well kept; great location- near downtown restaurants, entertainment and shopping. Room rates below comparable hotels downtown; this will be by first choice for Austin hotels in the future. Valet parking a little expensive - the only minor negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JohnC1946:

We thank you for your kind five star review of our hotel on your recent visit to the city of Austin. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the staff to be helpful. We take great pride in every one of our staff members and love hearing about how they are taking care of our guests.

We look forward to your return to our great city and hope that you were able to experience some of the great restaurants and attractions that Austin has to offer.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.