We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #3 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean, and near everything down town has to offer. You can walk to all the places to eat, the hot spots, bars, and only one block from the convention center.
The staff is very helpful and they go the extra mile to take care of any requests.
The ONLY thing this hotel needs is an outdoor pool, the pool is indoor.
The selection of restaraunts is awesome/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Steve H:

Thank you so much for the great five star review of our property. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our great city. Our location is fantastic whether you are here to vacation or for a business trip.

We also thank you for the kind words on the staff, they love to read the reviews so we will make sure to share it with them. As far as the outdoor pool is concerned, we have definitely added that to our considerations for future projects.

Many thanks
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    112
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
115
106
19
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for a week with family.
Staff from front desk, breakfast, room service and housekeeping were brilliant.
Superb room, breakfast and great sports facilities.
Access to Soco and area around 6th Street is very good.
No problems re parking either.
Will look to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Andzej K:

We are so pleased to read your review on your recent stay at our hotel. The staff is amazing and we love to hear that you felt well taken care of. Hopefully on your next trip to Austin we can see you again. There is never a shortage of great things to do in our wonderful city, we are so glad we were able to be a part of your trip.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice and both stays have been excellent! I used to stay down the street at another major hotel that charges more and is not as service oriented. The staff here is very kind, helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. What more can you ask for?!?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Steve Y:

Thank you for the great five star review!!! It is nice to hear that you returned a second time, we love to hear that!!

The staff is amazing, we never get tired of hearing about that. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to your next visit.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location. Lots of construction surrounding businesses. GREAT CITY!
Parking is about $22 a day.
Rooms large and smell wonderful! No allergy issues. Beds fanatastic. Pool and fitness area clean. Great FREE breakfast. Staff so friendly! Can't say enough. FREE WIFI.
Bat bridge, 6th st, and Soco all equidistant. Riverboat cruise nearby and it takes you right under the bat bridge. ( Lonestar riverboat cruises)
Don't miss 6th st. Unreal!
GOT TO SEE ESTHER FOLLIES. NON STOP FUN ... Magic, singing, jokes. Book online for a reserved seat! They have a bar and snack food. GOTTA SEE.
Did not see Museum of the Weird on 6th St. Mixed review from people. Internet gave bad review but others said it pretty good.
Pay to Park all over the city even on 6th St.
Even the state house was quite a sight.
City gets moving late. We missed Saturday morning street fairs on Soco because start around noon. But nighttime is hopping!
Have fun !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Connie B:

Wow, what an amazing review of our great city. You definitely listed all of the amazing things there are to do in Austin. How wonderful you were able to do so much.

The staff is indeed very friendly, I am glad that you found them helpful and enjoyed the free breakfast. It is quite the amenity to our amazing hotel.

We hope you return to our hotel on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is new and modern and right in the heart of all the nighttime action! The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The complimentary breakfast was great and an added value! Lots to see and do within walking distance. Unfortunately, we had to rent a car to drive to Baylor University so we had to pay the valet fee of $29 because there was no self-parking available. This is the only reason I didn't give the hotel an "Excellent" rating. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BusyFamily_77:

We appreciate your recent review of our hotel during your trip to Austin. Our staff is wonderful and sure know the area like professionals, they are never short of suggestions of where to have fun. Hopefully your family enjoyed all that Austin had to offer, this city is fun for anyone, any age.

I am also going to share your information with the valet manager. We value our guest's opinions and want to communicate your feedback to them.

We would love to have you return again on your next trip to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a little hard to locate due to construction. Your parking options are self park for $26 or valet for $29. The staff greeting us was very pleasant. Room was exactly how research on Internet showed. Very clean very nice. Staff throughout stay was very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. Very good stay would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Shauna M:

Thank you for the great five star review of our property during your recent trip to Austin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff, they receive so many great comments. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again, we would love to have you return.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is new in a great location. We usually stay at the Hampton Inn which is right next door. This hotel is new and has nice modern decor. We would stay again only if the price was competitive with nearby hotels. We do not use the pools in hotels usually but this one looked particularly uninviting for both adults and kids ( indoor, small, sterile). Option to Self park is nice, still $23 per night, parking is expensive downtown at all hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Archigirl:

We would like to say thank you for the great review of our property on your last visit to Austin. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the modern feel to it, we have only just opened and have had such great feedback on the hotel.

Regarding the pool, we will offer your comments to our managers for suggestions on future projects, we know an outdoor pool would be a great addition.

Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to Austin.
Many thanks
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.