We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hampton Inn that doesn't yet show up on maps or GPS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill
6401 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 182 hotels in Austin
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hampton Inn that doesn't yet show up on maps or GPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned that this is a new hotel and somewhat hard to find. I couldn't locate it on Google maps or Google earth and my GPS didn't show it among Austin hotels. But we had no problem finding it: we simply followed the instructions that were provided with our online reservation. Once found, the hotel is really worth the trouble. It has all the advantages of the usual Hampton Inn plus a few things. The breakfast was more extensive than we've found in some Hamptons, with one or two hot items -- often scrambled eggs or omelets -- and make-it-yourself Belgian waffles every day. The hotel, having been opened only seven months, is still new and very clean and attractive. The room was large, also very clean, and had both a microwave and a small refrigerator. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Getting in and out of the hotel is easier via the McCarty Lane entrance/exit once you've found it. It leads to William Cannon Drive which worked very well for us. There are two minor points I should probably mention: first the hotel back up to a large cemetery which was the view from our room's window. It didn't bother us at all -- the neighbors were very quiet -- but we did hear a couple of other guests asking the front desk clerk to move them to a front room where they couldn't see the graveyard. So if this is a problem for you, request a front room, or perhaps one on the first floor (if available) where you probably can't see over the fence separating the hotel and the marble. The second thing that took some getting used concerned the room's air conditioning. It was an under-window unit controlled by a wall-mounted digital thermostat. But the thermostat also had a small motion detector built into it that is undoubtedly intended to save electricity by switching the unit off when no one is present. Not a bad idea, but it caused us problems since it made it impossible to maintain a consistent, comfortable temperature. We went to sleep the first night in a cool room, only to awaken in the morning sweating. So I assume the motion detector isn't smart enough to realize sleeping guests don't move around much. It took a couple of days for us to realize the wide temperature swings were being caused by the motion detector overrulling our thermostat settings, and the only defense was to set the thermostat a few degrees lower so the room would not get too warm once it shut down the system. And that of course defeats the whole purpose, so I suspect the device doesn't save nearly as much as the management thinks. Despite those two quibbles, though, this was a very enjoyable stay and I'll gladly stay there again next time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear overlook a large cemetery. It's no problem for most people, but you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    39
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
30
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel opened in Feb of 2013 and is beautiful. Typical Hampton Inn but very modern look. Easy to get to but a little hard to get out of in the morning due to traffic.
I would highly recommend this location if your business or leisure takes you to this part of Austin.
Personnel was super friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel. The lobby had a nice modern feel. The front desk staff was terrific. I particularly liked the advertising in the elevator that assured me all the linens - including the coverlet - was washed before my arrival. The post its with same messaging was a nice touch. Overall a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I would recommend Hampton Inn, Austin. Very clean... pleasant stay. Every employee that I saw in passing greeted me with a smile and asked if we needed anything. Overall, Hampton Inn is a hotel that I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

i was coming from a wedding rather late, and it can be a little difficult to find, but they try to mark it, so that helps. staying here was great--i only wish i had gotten to spend more time in the hotel. :) we enjoyed our stay, and the bed was very comfy, so that was nice, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our room was beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. Our stay at the hotel was definitely one of the Best. We would stay here again for any future trips that we may go on. Big thanks to Hampton on a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very nice for business travel. It is away from the traffic of Austin so it is easy to get in and out. The area is also very quiet so you are able to get a good nights sleep. The staff is very nice and eager to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill

Address: 6401 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located southwest of Austin, we are just minutes away from downtown and conveniently placed on your way out of town towards the famous Texas Hill Country. We are set at the intersections of US 290 and 71. We offer complimentary WiFi and free parking along with brand new rooms and a clean and comfortable stay to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Austin Oak Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.