We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively New Hampton Inn - Great Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relatively New Hampton Inn - Great Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Entire staff from Manager to cleaning staff all were very friendly and helpful. They even greeted us by our last name! Facility was very clean - great location too. Will most likely be returning when we are in Austin for a football game.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Lotyler,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor, we appreciate your comments. I was happy to see that our manager and cleaning staff greeted you by last name. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    122
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
186
129
35
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Hampton Inn Suites is brand new very contemporary cool design has excellent location and staff and great accommodations. A little pricey for a Hampton Inn type/class hotel but in general Austin is overpriced in general so you are kind of stuck!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
ag05dc,

Dear ag05dc,

thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you felt our hotel was a good value. I was happy to see that you like our beds and that our rooms are well appointed. We will work on our signage on the room floors to see what we can do to make it less confusing, thank you for the tip. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good location for University & Capital. Very clean & quiet with very helpful staff. Pool on roof - nice spot for morning coffee or evening relaxation. Second stay in two years for business and definitely would return. Not in the area where most other hotels are located, but within about 15 minutes. A few blocks from both Capital and University.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Gail B,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I was happy to read that you felt our rooms were very clean and quiet with a helpful staff. I believe our pool area view, in the morning, is a fantastic way to see Austin's skyline. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a nice Hampton and well located. I wish they had an onsite restaurant or bar, however. Bed was comfortale and the room was well appointed. The signs in the hallways are a little confusing and we found it sort of a maze to find our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear ag05dc,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed good value during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing up the signs in the hallways and we will work to make it less confusing. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
blanchard, OK, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed 7 nights for business, they are withing walking distance of the capitol and the TX history museum, the room was clean, bed was comfortable, hot water worked great, the breakfast was great food with much variety, the staff was very helpful, the pool area was a great place to relax with a book, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Carla W,

Thank you for staying with us and responding to tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations. I agree we do have a great location near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I were in Austin for a wedding and the Hampton Inn was chosen by the wedding party for lodging. Great choice! The staff could not have been friendlier (thank you for all your help Lindsey!). We arrived at 10am and they were able to get us in our room early and gave us a free upgrade to a suite just for waiting a couple of minutes. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I have had. The location was also perfect for checking out the sights around Austin. Would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Jacob M,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor, I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and rated us 5 circles. Thank you for appreciating Lindsey and our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I stayed here this past weekend. Great location! It's literally right next to a great little Mexican restaurant, which we walked down to, and ate at on our first night. $20 for parking upon check-in, but you can come and go after that one time fee. Room was nice and clean! My two boys, ages 9 and 5 really enjoyed the rooftop pool! :-)

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was so happy to see your review "great location! clean and modern". I agree that we do have some great restaurants in the area. I was happy that your two boys enjoyed our pool area. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin, TX visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.