We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, great deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed the weekend for the Armadillo Christmas Bazaar on a great sale on Hotels.com. We had a King Studio Suite, and it's huge. Kitchen area including fridge, microwave, 1-cup coffeemaker, and a great view. The place is comfortable with a modern feel, the staff was ultra friendly, and the location near the capital is good. We enjoyed the free full breakfast, but didn't eat there otherwise. Also, we never made it to the swimming pool deck but another guest said it's got a fantastic view of the capital dome and city, beautiful at night. This is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Barry T,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and appreciate the 5 circle rating! Thank you for noticing our spacioius rooms and "ultra friendly staff". We feel we have the best rooms in Austin and our staff takes great pride in their work! Thank you for informing tripadvisor that you feel this is a first class hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    105
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
160
109
29
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for Business and rented a King size bed room. It had a wonderful sitting area and mini table, with high ceilings and balcony. Perfect place to unwind after a long day of meetings or after sight seeing in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for the feedback on tripadvisor! I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our "awesome rooms". We believe we have the best rooms in the city, with our 11 foot ceilings and 12 foot windows, ceiling fans & unique Austin decor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed one of our balcony rooms and look forward to you coming back to visit us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We found ZERO problems with this hotel. Super comfortable bed, decor modern and minimalist, very friendly staff, good location near Capitol, excellent security measure in place. We were on the 8th floor and had a great view of the Capitol.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Ralph C,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you found ZERO problems with this hotel. Thank you for the comments on the friendly staff and good location. We feel we have the best staff in the city and have a central location near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerly,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked a corner balcony suite. Wow! Great view. Nice decor. Staff is exceptionally friendly and proud of this fairly new hotel. Artsy. More like a kimpton property than a Hampton.
Close to UT, the Capitol and 6 th street.
Great place to stay!

Room Tip: 8th floor corner suite...treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Agdahl,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback and appreciate your kind words. We appreciate the comparison to a Kimpton Hotel. I was delighted that you mentioned our hotel was exceptionally friendly and proud. Our team takes great pride in their hotel. WE have a truly unique Austin docor and feel and "Artsy" is a good way to describe us. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was a fabulous hotel. Honestly, I was so surpirsed because I wasn't expecting this from a Hampton Inn. The decor is so modern, fun, un-stuffy. The rooms were HUGE and my room overlooked the capitol and downtown area. My room also had a wrap around balcony so I could spend some time outside enjoying the views. The beds were cozy and the room was huge, like an apartment. I highly recommend this hotel & will be staying here when I return to the Austin area.

Room Tip: Corner suites include a balcony and are so roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Heidi Y,

Thank you for the comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for appreciating our "funky" design and our custom beds and sheets. I was delighted to see that you took advantage of one of rooms with a wrap around balcony! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A new, modern hotel with an excellent location in downtown Austin - Highly recommended! The breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of delicious options. I wish I had been able to enjoy the rooftop pool overlooking downtown, but the weather did not allow. This will be the first hotel I look into for my next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Eric R,

Thank you for the comments on tripadvisor about our Modern hotel with excellent location. I agree that we are centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the Kudos on our Hampton on the run breakfast. We try to put more then what is required. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Excellent stay, facilities and staff. Location is perfect...walking distance to UT Austin and Capitol building. Usually only stay at another hotel that has only suites...previous BAD experience at that Austin property. This Hampton in will NOT disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Gary G,

We appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind words. Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and staff in particular. Our team takes great pride in taking care of our guests and keeping the hotel clean. Thank you for the score and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin, TX visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.