We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with Austin stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 183 hotels in Austin
Arlington,TX, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased with Austin stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was impressed that the hotel offered free breakfast to go. I was in a hurry and it was a great surprise! Excellent and convenient check-in and the hotel was the same quality I have received at a 4-Star. I will definitely return here and will stay at other Hampton Inn locations as I travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear John F.

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor. Thank you for noticing our breakfast bags to go. We agree, that our attention to detail seperates's up from our competitors. We agree that our check in and out process is convenient. We agree that our hotel is equivelant to a four star hotel. Our rooms are second to none in the City. Our 11 foot tall ceilings are unique to Austin and give our rooms a larger feel. Our local art and design truly gives our guests a fantastic Austin experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    88
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
124
80
21
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Clean, friendly and not price prohibitive. Location is perfect for dealing with the Texas Capitol. The parking is a little pricey but it is so easy and convenient it is worth the price. The staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear William R,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Tripadvisor. We agree that our location is fantastic if you are conducting business at the Capitol, University, or in Austin. We are centrally located and have a fantastic staff. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the freindliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in keeping the hotel clean. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This new Hampton Inn was a fantastic hotel. It was close to everything that Austin has to offer including 6th street and so much more. This Hampton has the most friendly helpful hotel staff that I have ever encountered. Especially Jennifer on the front desk. She is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor review. Thank you for the kinds words and we appreciate you taking the time to give kudos to Jennfer. We agree, Jennifer is amazing and we appreciate how she takes great care of all our guests. We agree that our location is near everything. We believe our rooms are second to none in the city. Our rooms have tall ceilings and our pool and views of the Austin skyline are breathtaking. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location - just a few minutes from downtown, south congress, UT, capitol/museums. Great service - the girl who was greeting at breakfast was as if she was welcoming us to her own home, front desk worker was so friendly and made sure I was comfortable as I arrived early and had to wait a little while for my room to be ready. Rooms are top notch - new and clean, had a duvet cover (instead of a comforter that doesn't get washed), ceiling fan in room, awesome corner balcony with huge windows and a great view! Rooftop pool with a nice view of downtown and trendy patio area around it. Only downside was $19 parking, but that is probably to be expected with the location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear sp2373,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor, we greatly appreciate you letting us know how we are doing. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our location! I was happy that our breakfast staff was greeting you and made you feel like you were at home. I couldn't be happier to hear that our front desk staff made you feel comfortable. Thank you for noticing that our duvets (comforter) get washed with each guest! I was happy that you enjoyed one of our rooms with a balcony, paying for the balcony is well worth the views and access to the Austin skyline and or hill country views. Our pool is second to none with great views of the Capitol and Austin skyline! We do not enjoy charging $19.00 for parking, however we are competitive with other hotels in the downtown area. We look forward to your next visit with us!

sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely Hotel, great value. Always good to have a complementary breakfast also to start the day. Can't beat bacon and eggs! Location was easy access to everything also. Especially like the security (card access required in elevator). Would stay again any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Donnersburger,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor! We appreciate your feedback and I was happy to see that you had a "great stay" with us! I was happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, our location, and the added security with our key system. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great Rooms ( Suites are a real treat- only room with its own Armadillo) - Great Views ( East side of building has Views of the University of Texas as well as Texas Sate Capital) - Great Location Easy in and out - Pretty much can get anywhere easliy from the hotel-Parking at the meters never was a issue which eresulted in Free parking_ Wonderful Lobby / Gives you a Botique Feel With the Industrial type art - Super Pool with Views-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for your comments on tripsadivsor! Thank you for the great comments in regards to our suite rooms. I agree paying a little extra for a suite is worth the extra space and most of our suites have incredible views. We do have amazing views of the Capitol and University to the East and the Hill country to the West! We are centrally located in Austin and while we are steps away from the Capitol and University you can get to the Austin entertainment district 10 blocks away without dealing with some of the shenanigans that go on in the entertainment district. We look forward to your next stay in Austin!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a boutique-type hotel near the University. It does not look like a chain. The furnishings are interesting and modern. It is clean and efficient. The woman at the desk was very helpful, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about state travel requirements. A very pleasant experience all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Mark T,

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind comments about our "boutique-type hotel near the University. We are a unique hotel with Austin inspired decor and art. Thank you for the comments about our clean and efficient hotel and the friendliness of our staff. I was pleased to see you had a pleasant experience and we look forward to you next visit with us.

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 183 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin, TX visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.