We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driskill Hotel Restaurant

Driskill Hotel Restaurant
604 Brazos Street, Austin, TX 78701
512-439-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Driskill Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #295 of 3,154 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 6th Street
Nevada, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The atmosphere was great and the food was very good. I was brought here on a business trip, so I did not see the price, but I would assume it was expensive. The cake was a little dry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good for being in the hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

food was good, not great but good. It's a good place if you don't want to drive anywhere and just stay in the hotel. Service was a little on the slow side but manageable nothing major. Atmosphere was good since its in The Driskill Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Signature service, superb cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a brief stop in this beautiful, streetside cafe during a recent visit. Nothing fancy, just a bit of cake and coffee whist people-watching on 6th St.

The signature cake - I believe it was the 1818, was a small but 5-star affair of the mouth. It was rich and chocolaty, without the heaviness that most brownies or heavy cakes bring. Together with a touch of ice-cream (and paired with coffee) it was the perfect afternoon indulgence.

Give the Starbuck's card a break and enjoy coffee-time in a real coffee house!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Driskill Bar is an oasis on dirty sixth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is a laid back escape from the craziness of sixth street in Austin. The bartenders are excellent, the atmosphere is awesome and they pull in some great little musical acts.

Breakfast is awesome too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Illy Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friends and I stayed and had their breakfast!
We ordered the hangover omlet and juevos rancheros items on the menu which were pretty good.

The best part was the Illy Coffee they served and the potatoes that come with the hangover omlet on the side!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driskill Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Driskill Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driskill Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.