We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildly Entertaining, If You Like Being Yelled At” 2 of 5 stars
Review of K1 Speed Austin

K1 Speed Austin
2500 McHale Ct., Austin, TX 78758
(512) 271-5475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 179 attractions in Austin
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: K1 Speed, since 2003 has been building many years of success with its award winning centers and locations in Southern California, Pacific Northwest, Southwest and East markets. K1 Speed Austin features plenty of space, equipped with plasma televisions, large projection screens, arcade games, pool tables, authentic racing memorabilia, a Pit Cafe, not to mention a professionally designed racetrack, high performance, zero-emission electric karts that are capable of 45mph, allowing novice and veteran drivers alike to experience the thrill of European style racing. Furthermore, K1 Speed Austin offers special occasion reservations to celebrate special events through their various race packages. Whether visiting to race or to cheer on your favorite racer, K1 Speed coveys an atmosphere to lounge and relax or to feel the adrenalin and race!
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mildly Entertaining, If You Like Being Yelled At”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Check-in was fast and easy, but the "pit" crew spouted off instructions at a pace hard to keep up with, and they barely looked at the crowd they were addressing (rather disrespectful). Then they proceeded to bark orders at everyone (akin to military drill instructors). My family found it disrespectful and unpleasant. Once the race got underway, despite our following the given instructions, our cars were electronically “stalled” 3 different times. I understand that this was probably due to safety concerns with other drivers needing assistance, but it still disrupted our enjoyment of the race. When the race was finished, we went up to the sign that reads, “Get your race results here” but we were ignored by the staff for at least 15 minutes until we just gave up and left (we had even paid for a second race but decided it wasn’t worth it anymore).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Go with the right expectations and you will have fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to K1 to celebrate a birthday and had lots of fun. Before you go, do your homework and go with the right expectations and you will have fun too. First, in Austin, this is a new experience. As such, lots of people want to do it. Don;t go expecting to be driving 15 minutes later. The waits can be long, but go with a strategy. We went on a Sunday afternoon at 4:30. We signed in, waited in the cashier line and were told that our first race would not be until 6:30, two hours later. If you know this going in, it's not a problem. We did. So we paid and then left K1 to do other things and returned 30 minutes before our scheduled start time. I would make sure to have some activities planned while you wait, but remember that you can leave during your wait.

The facility was clean; however when racing you may get small rubber pieces (from the car tires) on your clothing, so don't go wearing your best clothes. When you get there, pay attention to the rules or you will get kicked out like the guy in our second race. It's about speed and going fast and you can't do that if you are bumping other cars.

Overall, we had a great time racing and would return again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice indoor go-karts, but staff needs customer service training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Searched and called early to work on getting a set number of races for the group, not races per person. Local wouldn't budge off the set menu pricing. Called their toll-free service in California and still got nowhere. Finally talked to one of two of the local managers who understood the desire and agreed to sell a total number of races (to be split among the group - rather than an inflexible number of races per person). Arrived with group and the other manager said he never would have agreed to such a thing. Counter help openly questioned customer 'can't understand why anyone would agree to do what you asked and got' - replied; "customer service." Nice concept, had a very good time, but inflexible and non-customer service oriented staff. Would seriously question going back unless my group EXACTLY fit their parameters. Otherwise, it's not worth the exercise. They need to re-think their lack of flexibility in ways to buy races.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fast and fun! These guys have figured out how to operate an indoor kart track. Electric cars? Don't worry, they are fast. Topping out at around 30 mph indoors, 5 inches off the floor is quite exhilarating. Addictive - yes. Inexpensive, maybe, but not really. There are plenty of specials and packages, and if you opt for some of the better packages you can race for about $12 a race.

Downside- the place gets busy, especially Friday afternoons and the weekend. The wait can approach 2 hours. You can only schedule 2 races at any given time so after your first race you need to schedule your 3rd race and there is usually a minimum of 20 minutes between your first and second race. If it gets busy you might wait 40 minutes to an hours between your 2nd and 3rd race. I wish they would re-think the scheduling process or maybe offer a reservation option. There is a small snack bar inside. Wish they would expand it to have some real food. especially on weekends. Might make the wait more tolerable. On the plus side their scheduling is quite accurate so if they tell you 1 hour for the wait it will be an hour and you can run out for a bite to eat and there are plenty of food options in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K1 Speed Austin also viewed

 

Been to K1 Speed Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K1 Speed Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added K1 Speed Austin to your Saves list