We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salty sow

Salty sow
1917 Manor Road, Austin, TX
5123912337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty sow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poquito St
Description: Salty Sow comes out of the gate offering exotic and staple cuts — all under $16 — in one of the best spaces in Austin
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Found this place on another ratings site and wanted to check it out. We were meeting another couple with their baby. We met on a Friday night at around 5:00PM for happy hour cocktails and appetizers.

We were put in a corner booth, perfect for the baby's carrier. She slept through the even so that was good.

Our cocktails arrived and were perfectly executed concoctions. The real star of the evening, however, were the appetizers. Be sure and try the deviled eggs and duck fat fries. Those really stood out.

Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Girl's Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Last Tuesday of every month I meet 6 other foodie females at a restaurant in Austin for wine and food sampling. We showed up on a cold day in February and were warmly welcomed and placed at a cozy table. We ordered wine from an excellent wine list and proceeded to order one of many different items from the menu to share. The staff was helpful in making suggestions and flexible in accommodating our sharing. It was a memorable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We came here with friends over Memorial weekend for dinner. The restaurant is much bigger then I had thought, with various rooms to eat. But it doesn't feel that way. We elected to eat inside as it was still pretty warm outside, but there were fans in some of the outside areas which made them comfortable. There were TVs in the rooms but not obtrusive - you can still have a good chat without feeling like you are in a sports bar. The food was absolutely delicious. We had the chicken liver pate in a jar - so creamy and full of flavor, the duck fries, then the pork Duroc, the bacon wrapped pork fillet (x2) and the candied pork belly. Everyone loved their meal. Afterwards even though we were full (!) we shared the banana foster beignets and the caramel dessert. The banana foster dessert was just outstanding. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable - the meal for four with wine and cocktails was less than $45 per person. We will definitely be back !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went to the Salty Sow when we were in Austin in December. It was Christmas Eve and i was amazed how crowded it was and how wonderful the service was. Typically, on Christmas Eve places close early and the staff is angry because they are having to work, not this place.
The food was excellent and the menu was interesting and fun. I would definately go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair oaks ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food, lively atmosphere for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

pork dishes were great- brussel sproat leaves were top notch-
we sat out in the covered patio with big group-lively and fun atmosphere- very good waiter service-knowledgeable and helpful

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty sow also viewed

 

Been to Salty sow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty sow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.