We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance, Vibrant Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive & June

Olive & June
3411 Glenview Ave, Austin, TX 78703
(512) 467-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Olive & June is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 2,939 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 35th Street
Description: olive and june is a new Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace. Serving piccolo piatti, antipasti, daily homemade pastas, entrees grilled over Texas oak, contorni & Italian dolci.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Vibrant Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

On a balmy night, Olive & June is delightful. Filled with Austin's SXSW crowd, the atmosphere is upbeat and "happenin'". Service is very responsive, but avoid the fish.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went to Olive & June for the first time last Saturday night. It's a small restaurant - reservations are recommended. Our server was exceptional and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Everyone's dinner was very good and fresh however the size of each dish was pretty small.

We had a good time and enjoyed our meals and the service, but probably will not visit too often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a very enjoyable sunday prix fixe dinner with a wonderful bottle of Kermit Lynch Cote de Rhone.
Appetizer, Salad, pasta and main course were all well prepared and proportioned.
The two dining areas were attractive and well designed.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Whimsy Abounds, Perfect for a Special Occaisons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Because of the price and the general fussiness I would reserve this for a special occasion. The food is amazing! Delicious! Incredible! Try the starter-snackies which are cute and tasty. Our server was friendly but after a while our table wanted a bit more breathing room from the pomp and pressure. Delightful, whimsical and charming atmosphere.

The only thing that put me off was the desserts which are huge in size compared to the not-Texan-huge main courses. In other words, it was a nice surprise to receive manageable portions for the main courses but then off putting to receive a dessert bowl that was just as big and possibly bigger than the main dish. The descriptions of the desserts on the menu are playful and appealing but overall - we felt - had way too much going on in reality. Wish I had shared.

Go here and enjoy something completely unexpected, out of the ordinary and downright delish!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian in the land of Tex-Mex and BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to Olive & June last night for a birthday party! There were so many highlights including the free bubbly for the birthday girl! The Fried Sunchokes with aioli were a great starter small plates as well as the Swordfish Spiedini! The farm egg was also delicious with fresh mushrooms. We all opted for homemade pasta dishes and they didn't disappoint! Both the white sauce and red sauce were beyond delicious! The Gemili (spelling?) was the highlight! For desert the donuts with gelato! Definitely a must stop if you can pull yourself away from Tex-Mex and BBQ!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & June also viewed

 

Been to Olive & June? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive & June, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.