We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Hotel Stay Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Austin to your Saves list
Hilton Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save over $30 per night
Ranked #51 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location; Hotel Stay Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the Hilton Austin because I attendeed a conference held in the same hotel. The location was quite desirable, near the Capital, 6th Street, and my favorite -- Lady Bird Lake!

My room was clean and had all the standard amenities you would expect at a Hilton. One disappointment; the walls are very thin in this hotel. After I checked in, I promptly opened up my laptop to do some work from the hotel. It was difficult to concentrate because the family in the room next door included two young children and a crying, fussy baby. Finally, I asked if I could move to a different room. The Hilton Austin accomodated me, but they didn't help me move (which is usually customary in every hotel I've stayed at). I had to re-pack all my belongings and make multiple trips to my hotel room (on a different floor). It was definitely an inconvenience.

Other than that, I ordered room service one night, which was pretty good, and I ate breakfast a few times at the on-location Starbucks, which was a huge plus.

I also walked to the Capital one evening and spent another evening walking around Lady Bird Lake, a great way to get into nature that is right in the middle of downtown Austin. I also had a great meal on the patio of the Four Seasons, which is well within walking distance from the Hilton Austin.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    170
    85
    37
    11
See reviews for
36
91
43
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has more plugs then any hotel I have very stayed at. There were several on the desk and more beside the bed. Also loved that I could control the lights and temps from my bedside. The valet parking cost at $35 seemed high especially since the 10 min wait for the car tuned into 45 Ine before I discovered they had never gone to get it. Oops. St least they comped it for me.
Great location though. Enjoyed running in Lady Bird Park. And also the music on 6th Street.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel, because I was attending a conference in the convention center that is located next door. The convenience was great and I really appreciated being able to sleep in an extra half hour. The room was nice. View okay - my room looked out towards 6th street. It was all nice, but nothing spectacular. I have gotten used to having a newspaper delivered every morning whenever I stay in a hotel, but not at this one. Not a big disappointment, but I noticed. Also, I am a vegan and when I spoke with hotel staff about local restaurants, they really couldn't help. They tried, but their information wasn't great. Finally on the day I checked out, I had a question about my bill, but was told the computers were down. I found that odd since the staff member was typing away on the computer when I walked up to the lobby desk. If you are going to Austin on business, then this place is clean and more than adequate. Just don't expect to be wowed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Need a great hotel in downtown Austin? This might be the one for you. I am in room 1858, which is off the main corridor tucked in an alcove. Great view! Bed is comfortable and there is a room control switch for the lights and temperature bedside. Great for in the middle of the night. Room is quiet and the temperature maintains well. Roth bathroom amenities. Starbucks on site as well as two excellent restaurants. Drawback is the high prices for self and valet parking so be prepared.
I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I liked the pool and gym here. it is pretty close to most things, but not as centered as I thought it might be. Most directions you walk are great, one direction not so much.
Staff was friendly, definitely a big hotel, good view as well

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this hotel managemnet is luck because they have an amazing reception team.
Burcu has always fully smiling face with blue eyes.
all other staff is very helpfull.
rooms are clean and breakfast is OK
location is good and wifi is OK

I def. come back to this hotel

thank you

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location; super friendly staff. Highly recommend valet parking as parking garage is quite cramped. Executive level had fantastic view of city, State Capitol and UT stadium. Executive
level concierge was quite helpful and the snacks, beverages, cookies, etc., were plentiful. Great place to unwind after day of meetings. Would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana N, Social Media Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Deborah,

Thank you so much for the 5-Star review here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay here with us, we love hearing that! Thank you for for selecting the Hilton Austin for your recent trip. We know you have many options when it comes to downtown hotels and we are honored to serve you. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#37 Business Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.