We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Austin

Save Saved
You added Hilton Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double the rewards
Ranked #52 of 182 hotels in Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rooms good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is centrally located. The front desk manager was rude. The rest of staff was very helpful. Rates change based on occupancy and can vary several hundred dollars. The rooms are very nice and the hotel is clean and has a very good bar. The executive lounge has a good evening reception and a nice breakfast offering.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    381
    200
    71
    33
See reviews for
96
203
58
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to stay in Austin. Stayed on an Executive Level floor with the Executive Lounge. Great breakfast and evening appetizer service. Very clean and nicely updated hotel. No problems whatsoever. The location is amazing. One block from the bars of Sixth Street. Many great restaurants in walking distance and lots of sights nearby. Easy access to the Interstate for day trips to local vineyards. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They have great maps to show you the downtown area with local restaurants and were great with recommendations. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Austin. The gym is the best I've seen at a hotel with a cardio room and separate weight room. The pool was great with plenty of towels, shaded areas, a hot tub and lots of chairs. We didn't experience any problems or have any complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Executive floor was great with wonderful view of the Capital, 6th Street and the Longhorns stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and would recommend it if you can get a reasonable deal (I used a discounter site to book). Location is downtown 2 blocks from the 6th St. scene and walking distance to the Driskill historic hotel and Congress Ave, where there are more restaurants and the bridge where the bats are.

Room was well maintained, well appointed and pleasant, and I appreciated that they did not skimp on the toiletries. Bed was very comfortable and the climate control worked well. Front desk staff was efficient and pleasant. There is a cafe with Starbucks coffee and snacks, pastries by the lobby. But the room does have a coffee/tea maker in it. Overall a high-end experience that I would expect for a Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. It is very close to all the bars, music and restaurants and you can walk to everything. The hotel is also right next to a rail station if you need to go further or don't want to walk.

If you have a car, parking is a little annoying. The spots are small and tight and it was difficult to find a spot when we did have to use the car.

The hotel staff was great and very helpful. We all had adjoining rooms and all of our rooms were updated and clean. Room service and housekeeping were fast and the rooms were always clean and restocked when we came back. The showers were hot with great water pressure (really important for me) and all the bathrooms were very clean.

I've stayed at quite a few Austin hotels over the years that are also close to the downtown action but this is the first hotel that I've been completely satisfied with (I can deal with parking in comparison to the issues I've had at the other hotels in the area). One tip for smokers - there is a cool large corner balcony on I think the 4th floor that my smoker friends found. It holds a lot of people and you can watch all of the evening action below from there too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room (they're larger and the same price as the others).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed the downtown Austin Hilton for 4 nights for a business trip.
It was a great location; coffee shops, restaurants, and plenty of bars. I was able to walk around the downtown at nights checking out the nightlife in Austin.
A light rail stop is in front of hotel if you want to hop on to go outside of downtown.
Front desk staff is fast, I didn't have to wait to check in or out. I rarely see a line at the front desk even though the hotel was completely full due to the conference I was attending.

It has a clean gym, but the swimming pool is rather small.

Room Tip: Lower level is better than high level if you don't want to stop every floor between lobby and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Location is great, parked the car for two days and walked everywhere. Hotel room was very clean, spacious. Unlike the other reviews, I found the staff to be very courteous and friendly. When we appeared to be roaming, not knowing where we were going, they approached us and asked if they could help. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Although we did not request a certain room, just the cheapest room, the check in person gave us a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

For a Hilton, housekeeping could have been better and the rooms cleaner. It wasn't a bad stay, just that I had higher expections, and on an earlier stay in Austin the Omni had exceeded my expectations.

The rooms were nice and stylish and quite large, but not as clean as I would have expected from a Hilton. The bed spread scared me, it looked like it had never been washed. I'll bet that it never has beed.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom large.

The only area of the hotel that exceeded my expectation at first glance was the fitness center -- WOW! Two rooms of treadmills and ellipticals and stationary bikes, all with personal TVs. But then again, that turned out to not be an accurate assessment -- all but one of the ellipticals I tried has a television that worked. I went from machine to machine trying to find one that I could actually watch TV on. And when I did, I found that on ALL machines my favorite channel, the History Channel, had no sound.

I was staying here for business and won't stay here again.

Overall, it was a good stay, but there are better hotels in the area. Choose of one them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.