We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to stay in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Austin

Save Saved
You added Hilton Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double the rewards
Ranked #52 of 182 hotels in Austin
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent base to stay in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very close to the places to visit to enjoy good food, restaurants, diners and places to eat brunch, lunch and dinner both on 6th but also surrounding area. Moonshine recommended by the friendly guy on the front desk was an excellent recommendation for my partner's 41st birthday. Hotel pool is heated and the hot tub is very nice too in a relaxed atmosphere.

Only negative comment is the cost of the Ozarka bottled water in the mini bar which we know you can buy for approx 30 cents for a bottle in the stores but costs 5 dollars plus tax from the hotel. I guess if you are organised you can purchase a bottle at the store and replace but sometimes you just run out of time. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    381
    200
    71
    33
See reviews for
96
204
58
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

When we want to stay overnight downtown, this is where we stay. There are several other hotels near by, but we haven't hat a bad experience here and the price is comparable so we return. Easy walking to great restaurants, the convention center, auditorium shores, downtown night life and the Long Center for all the numerous events. Self parking is $20 and valet is $27 plus a tip. Check in is fast. There is a bank of elevators so the wait is short. The room is standard and has a mini bar that I have never used. I came here when the hotel first opened and I can see the years of wear starting to show. Usually the rooms are quiet but if there is a loud party in the hall or the room next door, you hear it. There are multiple pillows to choose from on the bed. Water pressure in the shower is great. In room coffee maker with coffee pods and actual creamers. Room service is prompt, but the girl who took our breakfast order struggled with the limited menu...first day on the job? There is a beautiful roof top spa/pool area that I didn't have time to enjoy during this visit. A good downtown hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was there just for one night on my business trip and this was a great experience. The staff was frindly, the beds were at top notch, the little soaps and shampooes were very nice and good quality. During my stay I had only breakfast and it was awesome, pleanty of selection were laid out in a nice display. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAustin, Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review! We are very pleased to hear your enjoyed you had a terrific time here in Austin! Our Peter Thomas Roth amenities are incredible, we love them as well! Thank you again and we hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My first time in Austin and thoroughly enjoyed the city and surrounding area, The hotel is situated on 4th St very close to good restaurants and the music of 6th ave. I stayed for 6 days and enjoyed my experience. My room was clean and up to date. The fitness center was excellent and the outdoor heated pool area on the 8th floor was clean and comfortable. Ate breakfast at the hotel buffet and found the food acceptable and the service good.Lots of good places to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAustin, Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
BostonFestuca,

Thank you so much for posting a review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments here with others and look forward to welcoming you back here at the Hilton Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We attended a fundraiser here last weekend and since we didn't want to drive the 50 deer laden miles home late at night, we decided to stay overnight Saturday and lounge around Sunday. The hotel is well kept, and our room was large, clean, nicely decorated and had a great view from the 26th floor. I also loved the very large LCD TV. The bedding was very comfortable and it was quiet so we got a peaceful nights sleep. We had a relaxing Sunday breakfast in bed and the service was excellent. The ballroom was immense and kept at a nice cool temperature. The meal was fine and all went smoothly. The staff ran things very professionally and we left having had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAustin, Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear TexasEd60,

Just a quick note to thank you for your review! Your thoughtful comments are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent service and experience here at the Hilton Austin. We hope you come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed here quite a few times for work conferences and have always had a good experience. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. If the room I requested was not available they always have a suitable option ready. The concierge and valet staff were very friendly, patient and helpful. The coffee shop is fabulous. Since I am most often in hotels for business, wireless and the number of outlets in a room always factor in to my level of satisfaction. Wireless was free and fast and they have plenty of outlets for computer, cell phones and any other gadget that needs a charge. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Plenty of elevators so you're not waiting forever with a bunch of heavy luggage. I had some issues with my bill the last time I stayed and the front desk staff readily and quickly took care of the issues. I haven't stayed here for leisure, but as far as work travel, this is definitely a solid option. I also received vouchers for free coffee and pastry each day of my staff. No complaints and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAustin, Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Filonia,

Thank you for your recent review! We appreciate you sharing your comments here with us and we are delighted to hear our team was able to provide you with outstanding customer service. So glad to hear you enjoy Java Jive as well! We hope you come back to visit us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here for a conference being held at the hotel. Booked a 3 night stay and expected to arrive late night. However, due to a flight cancellation did not arrive until the next day. They shortened my stay without a fee which was nice and unexpected.

It is about $40 taxi ride from the airport. You can take supershuttle for about $14.

Check in was fast and easy and they recognized my Hilton Gold status. I checked in early (10 am) and was given the option of waiting for my reserved king room or going with a room with 2 queen beds. I opted for the latter as I had been flying all night and just wanted to settle in.

Room was very large with newer furniture. Great view from the 18th floor.

I arrived after traveling on a redeye and the first thing I wanted was a nice hot shower. Unfortunately there was only a lukewarm shower and very low water pressure. Not pleasant. I called down and they said they'd take a look. Next morning there was plenty of hot water and water pressure.

Bed was very comfortable. Quiet. Thermostat was accurate and aircon was quiet.

I did not try any of the hotel restaurants. Hotel is within easy walking distance of 6th street with plenty of excellent food/bar/entertainment options.

Next day I was checking out early for a 6am flight. Lo and behold no hot water and measly water pressure. I complained and received an apology and an offer to shower in a different room (which I did not take). No comp on the room rate.

I also needed to leave a bag at the hotel for someone else to pickup later in the day. This was accomplished without a problem by leaving the claim check in an envelope at the bell desk.

Room Tip: High floors will give you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAustin, Manager at Hilton Austin, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, views from the 18th floor and our convenient location in Downtown Austin! Please accept our sincerest apologies on the issues you experienced with the water temperature and pressure. I have shared your concerns to our Operations team so we can ensure this not happen again. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.