We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lick Ice Cream

Lick Ice Cream
2032 South Lamar Blvd., Austin, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Burnet
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

They have very interesting taste combinations of ice cream, plus local milk from pastured cows. We tried most of the flavors. Cilantro lime and coconut avocado were delicious. My son loved the salted caramel. Only problem is finding it and a parking spot. Worth the trip!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy and unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

So good and so weird. Just like austin. Loved grapefruit and ginger. Choco sea salt and olive also delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique Flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter loved the beet & mint ice cream. We also enjoyed other exotic flavors like cilantro-lime.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Lick's ice cream is amazing!! I was in Austin for the weekend and was in the mood for something sweet. After reading a lot of mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect as far as texture goes but I decided to give it a try anyways. I am so glad I did!!! I had milk chocolate and coffee in a waffle cone, everything was delicious. The texture is more like homemade ice cream and less like something you buy in a store.

They also have vegan options as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ice milk, not ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'd have to agree with other reviewers: after sampling and eating a couple of flavors, I found myself not only underwhelmed, but thinking that I could've bought better mainstream supermarket ice cream. The texture was thin, a bit more like sherbet than ice cream, but with a sort of frozen-butter after-texture. Hard to describe, but unpleasant. The server was a sweetheart, but I will not return to appreciate her great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lick Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Lick Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lick Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.