We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine French Fries - for real!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wurst Tex

Wurst Tex
1327 S. Congress Ave., Austin, TX
512-827-8566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #611 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Purveyor of Gourmet Sausage Sandwiches
Bourbonnais IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Divine French Fries - for real!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Right on South Congress this is a must- experience.A favorite dining experience for us in Austin. Fabulous brats on fresh bun and the most incredible french fries you could ever want to taste. Ask them their secret for the fries~ if they share. Great friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

While walking on S. Congress I noticed this food truck. Had to try as I like knockworst. Very interesting flavor. Came on a nice toasted bun. Nice side selections of mustard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Rabbit & Rattlesnakes... Oh My.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

On a recent visit to see my sister in AUstin, we decided to do a little shopping down on South Congress. She was getting hungry and said we had to try the Predator & Prey Wurst at Wurst Tex. I said ok and we started towards the food trucks. This was my very first Food Truck Experience. I was a bit disconcerted when I read the sign and saw what my sister wanted me to eat, but after living for 3 years in Thailand, I was willing to try this for my sister's sake. We had it plain and she cut me off and couple of pieces. It was fantastic. You won't even realize that it is rattlesnake and rabbit you are eating. Please make the time for this heavenly little spot if you make it to lovely Austin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun Food Truck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Try some of the game wursts. Husband and I enjoyed.
Be sure to get the fries with the truffle oil - delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the 'trailer' deter your business. This place is AWESOME! Must try the Predator and Prey (rabbit and rattlesnake.). I strongly suggest getting the grilled onions and kraut. DELICIOUS! Especially of you're looking for exotic meat. Hard to come by in Austin, and won't spend an arm and a leg like the other option.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wurst Tex also viewed

 

Been to Wurst Tex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wurst Tex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.