We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, superb accommodations, welcoming environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brava House Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
1108 Blanco Street, Austin, TX 78703 (Formerly Southard House) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
waukesha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location, superb accommodations, welcoming environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed two nights at the end of April. The owners are awesome, full are suggestions to have a great stay. The Monroe room was much more than we expected. Beautiful hardwood floors, antique touches, full kitchen, large apartment-like space, extremely comfortable and well maintained. The location is fantastic for having an adventurous vacation. We walked easily to the downtown area, it's close to great restaurants and cafes, and we got around very easily on bikes and on foot. The property is inviting and although the inn is close to the city for great convenience it is located in a quiet neighborhood. Homemade breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    48
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
118
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Brava House with our dog, which was totally no problem at all. The Fitzgerald Room offered a lot of space for the three of us. The location is ideal--close to downtown in an arty neighborhood where you can walk to the cafe, dog park or drug store for a yummy old-fashioned pineapple milkshake. The hosts are personable, long-time Austinites and real foodies, so they can recommend great places to eat and fun things to do. Plus, they are really into cooking themselves, so you're in for some real breakfast treats. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Fitzgerald Room is on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brava House is our favorite place to stay in Austin. We are both from Austin but haven't lived there in a while, so we know the town pretty well. Brava House is in a great neighborhood - so close to everything, quiet, historically significant, shops and restaurants very nearby. The hosts try their best to meet your needs in any way they can - even if it is an unusual request. They make great local (not chain) restaurant recommendations, send you to the best Farmer's Markets, give you tips on what's hot to do and see in town, and generally make you feel like you are amongst friends. They live on site and take pride in their house, so the place is run with care, concern and compassion. We have stayed in the Fitzgerald, the Garbo and the Van Gogh. All classy, and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a great time to chat with other guests or the hosts, or sit alone in the sunshine if you prefer. Pretty and relaxing outdoor courtyard/patio with small fish pond, fire pit, and grill. Great on cool evenings like we had on our last stay. Listen to the wind chimes and chill out! Thanks for sharing your place, Robin and Mary!!!

Room Tip: Our favorites are Fitzgerald and Garbo. Nice large, comfy, sitting rooms in both. Fitz has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Brava House recently for three nights. We really liked it. It's in a nice, funky neighborhood, which we enjoyed walking around before breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the oatmeal and the muffins. Also enjoyed the excellent coffee. We stayed in the nice and roomy Garbo suite. The heat worked well, and that was important because we were in Austin in Februrary (the nights were chilly!). The bed was quite comfortable, but be careful during that first night: the bed is on a quite high platform, and I nearly fell out heading to the bathroom! The bathroom itself is fine unless you cannot abide taking a shower in a combination bathtub/shower.

The hosts, Robin and Mary, are friendly and knowledgeable about Austin. Be sure to ask Robin about restaurants. She loves talking about food and is full of helpful suggestions.

Austin has a funky vibe and so does Brava House, makiing it the perfect place to stay. My only complaint (and it's a minor one) is that the towels had a kind of musty smell. But we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and stayed at Brava House for seven nights.

It was the BEST choice:
(a) The bed & breakfast is in a peaceful, safe, residential neighborhood.
(b) Yet we were only about one mile from the state capitol--stunning building & grounds--plus galleries and shops, the Driskill Hotel, and music hangouts on 6th street.

So if you enjoy walking, stay at Brava House. It brings all of Austin closer.
[We did not have a car and did not need one.]

We walked everywhere--except when we took the bus (easy) to the LBJ Museum on the University campus, a MUST see, and to the Bullock Texas History Museum.

The innkeepers are caring and knowledgeable in the details.
Mary ensured our room was clean and neat.
Robin chatted with me each morning to ask how our Austin adventure was progressing, and to suggest more places to explore. She showed me maps, gave specific ideas on walking routes, restaurants, and everything this vibrant city offers. If she was unsure about anything, she looked it up on her instant iPad.

Robin enjoys meeting guests and encouraging them to make the most of their trip. This is invaluable for any traveler.

The Garbo suite is spacious and attractive. In fact, with the living room, bedroom, and tiny kitchen it is more of an apartment than a room.

When I plan a trip, I do a helluva lot of research to find a unique and memorable bed & breakfast. Brava House was everything we needed and wanted.

Don Gervich / Linda Corinne
Boston, Massachusetts

ps Don't mind those nagging comments about food...
breakfasts are varied, healthy, and plentiful.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, especially if you are more than one person, or staying more than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here last summer, based on TripAdvisor comments, but was disappointed.

On the plus side, the location in an older funky neighborhood, was excellant and convenient to everything. The room was large, clean and comfortable, and the A/C provided welcome relief to the Austin summer heat.

On the negative side, breakfast was very skimpy, just bread, yogurt and a tiny blueberry muffin. It was "served" in what looked like a bar room. And the hosts were not particularly friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whoalilponie, Owner at Brava House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
As a clarification to the above review, Brava House ALWAYS serves during the week, fresh roasted and ground local coffee, OJ, a bread basket with typically 3 or 4 different varieties, english muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade granola, steel cut oatmeal and typically, egg biscuits or pancakes or muffins or banana bread or poppyseed pound cake all home made. On the weekends it includes the above with the addition of breakfast tacos with homemade flour tortillas, strata, waffles, french toast, quiche, egg scrambles, omelets, garlic cheese grits and hash browns all homemade....I'm the cook!!! So if this sounds good to you by all means come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Pros: VERY clean, good breakfast, friendly hostesses, and great location

Cons: Since it's an old house, our room was very drafty. We had a hard time keeping a comfortable temperature. Too stuffy when the heater was on but too cold when it would shut off.
The bathroom door was a sliding door and was very loud!
The towels were kind of sour...not very fresh and clean-smelling.
My husband wanted to make coffee in our room, so he went to get the Folgers pack from the mini-fridge. That's when he saw that they wanted us to pay $1 for it! In our many stays in hotels and B&Bs, we have NEVER had to pay for in-room coffee. Crazy!
Also, if you're used to a softer mattress, beware! Our bed in the Fitzgerald room was as hard as a rock.

Overall, I think the rate was rather steep for the basic amenities that were provided. We did enjoy our time in Austin, but I do think we'll stay elsewhere for our next visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Address: 1108 Blanco Street, Austin, TX 78703 (Formerly Southard House)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin
Brava House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brava House Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.