We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brava House Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Save
You added Brava House Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
1108 Blanco Street, Austin, TX 78703 (Formerly Southard House) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
Kyle, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here so many times you would think we lived there! We love the Monroe room but all are fabulous! After reading all the reviews, it sounds like some people just cant be satisfied. too bad. i love it here. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    46
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
22
109
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at Brava House for a long weekend with my husband and two children. We decided to go somewhere more "homely" than a faceless hotel chain. Brava House is in one of Austin oldest neighbourhoods and the house itself is old style (although we discovered that the cladding is no longer wood but plastic!).We arrived late evening in the dark and spotting the black sign with the house name and number on the grass under the bay window wasn't easy; but we got there. We were greeted by Mary (I think) and shown to our room. We stayed in the Fitzgerald Suite. The room was clean, the bedding was clean and well pressed and the bathroom was very clean. There were lots of nice touches and lovely period features. The beds were comfortable and the owners kindly turned the sleeper bed down ready for our sleepy children. There is off street parking at the back of the house, one car space per room. There is a nice deck at the back with chairs, a bbq and water features. The first day we decided to give breakfast a try (despite some bad reviews on here). We were greeted by Robin (I think!). She was very helpful; albeit the breakfast selection was rather poor. There was some coffee (and tea); I didn’t drink the coffee but my husband said it wasn’t great. There was some juice, but was it orange? Was it pineapple? We couldn’t work it out as it had been watered down so much it could have been anything! It was tasteless and incredibly pale in colour. My orange juice lover of a daughter wasn’t impressed! There was a very small plate of sliced bread next to the toaster, some butter, a small pot of apricot jam and some honey. In addition there was a small plate with some chocolate fruit cake slices and some bits of cinnamon buns (buns cut up and divided into smaller pieces). There was also a very small bowl of fruit salad (mainly melon and watermelon).We tried it but the melon was off and it was all so unripe… The saving grace was the fresh omelette Robin had prepared. It was really tasty, a pity it didn’t make up for all the rest. It was all a bit of a disappointment (and not great as you pay good money for the rooms!). Surely it doesn't cost much to provide slightly more variety and slightly bigger quantities?! Such a pity…as Brava House is perfectly located to easily walk downtown and is close by to a nice selection of antique shops, art galleries and various bars and restaurants. If we go back to Austin we’ll probably consider staying at Brava House again but we shall certainly avoid breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

There are a LOT of things to like about this B&B. The location is great: residential but only a few blocks to 6th Street, and an easy drive to anywhere in the city. At $139 per night (pre-tax), we thought this was very appropriately priced. The ground-floor Van Gogh room was spacious; the breakfasts were really good (especially on the weekend); there is a very relaxed atmosphere; very efficient late check-in; free & secure parking in the back of the house. Perhaps the best aspect of our experience was that inkeepers Robin and Mary were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about things to see, places to eat, shop, & drink, etc. Every morning, we guests received very valuable input from them. For us, there were no down-sides.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stay at Brava House every year when we visit friends in Austin for the Thanksgiving holiday. We have stayed in almost every room in the place and love them all. They are all unique, wonderfully furnished and very comfortable and cozy. Most of all, we enjoy the warm hospitality of the proprietors, who do a great job of making guests feel welcome. Brava House is in a prime location, near Whole Foods, coffee houses, etc. We would never stay anywhere else on our trips to Austin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Bravo is in a quiet location in easy walking distance to the entertainment areas in W 6th S. Also close to some really near local cafe's and Bistro. It has Gorgeous rooms and lovely courtyard to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We chose to stay at the Brava House during a recent visit to Austin to see our son. The location is great. You can walk to Whole Foods which is an adventure in itself. The house is very pretty and clean. For us, it had an odd vibe. We are used to B and B's where there is interaction with guests. The breakfast was ok but not up to standards of most B&Bs. We almost felt like we were intruders rather than guests. Mary, one of the owners, was helpful. But, there just wasn't a welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Fitzgerald Room was nice. It had a separate living area. TV was too small for the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Charming house, lovely cozy room. Great alternative to a downtown hotel. Arrived late and left early. Stayed in the Fitzgerald Suite which was very nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable. If you're looking for a comfortable cozy nights rest, this is a great find.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Address: 1108 Blanco Street, Austin, TX 78703 (Formerly Southard House)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin
Brava House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brava House Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.