We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL record store!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Records

Waterloo Records
600-A North Lamar, Austin, TX 78703 (Downtown)
512-474-2500
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 59 Shopping in Austin
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
Melbourne, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A REAL record store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is what a real record store is supposed to be. They have a great selection of vinyl and CDs and movies and everything else music related. I am an avid music fan, but they had things in there I hadn't seen before. I could spend all day just browsing the place.

Whenever I'm in Austin, I always stop by Waterloo.

Support independent record stores!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun & Retro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Forget Itunes, well at least while you're in Austin, this place is awesome. Brings you back to old school days when you actually had to go to the store to buy music. Tons of cds, records, videos, & all sorts of music stuff. We spent about 2 hours here just going through the shelves. Bought some really cool retro stuff that we haven't seen anywhere else. If you are a music lover, this is a must see!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Waterloo is ground zero for music lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fab selection, new and used, cd and vinyl, helpful lists of Texas musicians, latest releases, employee recommendations, and the place to pick up your KGSR Broadcast CD.
Then there are the live music jams, the knowledgeable employees... it is a music-lovers haven.
It has the Austin vibe to the nth degree--and that is most certainly a good thing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Music Lover's Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Go here now! This is an Austin staple, great record store full of goodies. You can almost always catch an in store jam session as well. Lots of vinyl and cd's for a music hound to poke through. Keep Austin weird!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great record store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

there is a pretty impressive vinyl selection here. lots of good box sets. check it out if you're in to music.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterloo Records also viewed

 

Been to Waterloo Records? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Records, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.