We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broken Spoke

The Broken Spoke
3201 South Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)
512-442-6189
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 163 Nightlife in Austin
Type: Dams, Bar/ Clubs, Country Western Bars, Dance Club/ Discos, Bars
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Still the best place to "boot scoot" in Austin. The Spoke deserves landmark status! Always great bands and a huge dance floor. The dance lessons are fun too! Go early and see the band up front.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    14
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Iconic spot of Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great place on South Lamar that reminds me of the Gilly's of Pasadena Texas that was featured on the movie "Urban Cowboy". As Gilly's, The Broken Spoke is a splendid structure that resembles a huge barn. Once inside you are mesmerized by the grandiose simplicity and yet cozy atmosphere. I had the good fortune of being there on hot afternoon, I went if to cool off with a cold one and in walks no other than Willy Nelson. He walked over to the bar and asked someone something and was led inside. No one bothered him. That was an Awesome Moment. Love Austin

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Old Austin Staple for Cow Pokes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a fun place to visit and dance. We went there because the kids could play video games and eat while we danced to a live band. Rarely are you this close to the live music. Definitely country and western music but a great time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendon, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Austin's best honky tonk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great music and dancing. It's everything a traditional Texas honky tonk bar should be. There are classes in the dance hall part on certain days and cover charge (on weekends +/- $12).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You Aint Jokin' It's Broken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

That is why we Austinites LOVE it! The only real honky tonk I know of left in and around Austin... Now you may go there prior to eat and that is ok but food it is not known for (even if they think their Chicken Fried Steak is) it's not... But venture past the food and through the souvenir area to make your way to the dance floor and you will not regret it! great place for visitors!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broken Spoke also viewed

 

Been to The Broken Spoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broken Spoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.