We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stubb's Bar-B-Q

Stubb's Bar-B-Q
801 Red River, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-442-6189
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 156 nightlife in Austin
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Activities: Dining
Attraction Details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“The food is ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in just for dinner. Ribs were ok but the pulled pork was a bit dry and the coleslaw thin. Not exactly what I would expect at this price

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stubbs Outdoor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Awesome! Saw Cyndi Lauper in their outdoor theater and it was way cool. Ok so there's no place to sit, it's pretty much a dirt pit, but it is quite fun. The sound and lighting was great, there are bars, all around, the audience was extremely well-behaved and so was staff and security. It's a no frills venue, so be prepared for that. Also, it is very hot so don't make the mistake of consuming too much alcohol, I saw a few people pass out, one needed a medic. The venue encourages you to drink water and provides stations throughout for your convenience. The vibe here is very cool, I was a little concerned at first but it turned out to be a lot of fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dee-licious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great food, good service and very reasonable prices. What more could you want in a BBQ joint? I had the day's special, smoked pork. It came with 2 sides and for an extra 75 cents I could have cornbread instead of Texas toast. Worth the 3 quarters as the corn bread was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Music, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My fiancée and I went here because it's rated very highly as somewhere to go while in Austin. I did like the food, though it wasn't my absolute favorite BBQ ever. The shows that went on while we ate were quite good, and we were sad we couldn't stay to see the downstairs show. Overall, the staff is great and the food is well priced and quite good. I would recommend this to anyone who visits Austin.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Umphrey's McGee 4/20/13 Show was Great here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Saw what is turning into an annual 4/20 Umphrey's McGee show here (in 2013). Spectacular outdoor venue: incredible sights, sounds, beers, and eats.

A must visit venue for music fans.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubb's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Stubb's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stubb's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stubb's Bar-B-Q to your Saves list