We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new menu additions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Fork

Roaring Fork
10850 Stonelake Blvd, Austin, TX 78759
512.342.2700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roaring Fork is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 2,939 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between The Domain and Arboretum
Description: The Roaring Fork captures the spirit of bold American cuisine matched with a contemporary Western ambiance and unmatched service, creating upscale flavors that crackle with a rugged edge. Select from lamb, chicken, beef, pork and fresh fish entrees all perfectly prepared by wood fire rotisserie, open flame grill or wood oven roasting.
Austin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great new menu additions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We go to Roaring Fork on a regular basis and really enjoy the food and service. They recently added some new menu items and we had two that rated a mention. Mussels with chorizo was my wifes favorite with a big bowl of steamed mussels in a wine chorizo sauce/broth. It is fantastic. We also had the new tomato salad with cheese and basalmic dressing. Very nice and very large tomatoes.

The burger is great and the trout is a standout.

Nice improvement on a good menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great meal in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was one of our favorite overall dining experiences - all of the food was excellent, wine selection and drinks great, and the location was convenient. And the ambience and décor were perfect for a meal with friends. It was more casual than a standard upscale steakhouse but every bit as good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food was fantastic a bit pricey but worth every penny Service was excellent Love the atmosphere I will return for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've dined at Roaring Forks two or three occasions and each time has been a very positive experience. Our reservations were honored immediately (even @ 6:30 PM and the height of happy hour). The wait staff was very good, the food excellent and the ambience was great.

A very good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been to the Roaring Fork at Stonelake a number of times - it's one of my favorite restaurants in Austin. The building is warm and inviting, and the deck over the quarry lake under cedar trees is marvelous. I've always loved the food, but usually stuck to the $15-$20 items to stay on budget. They are all fantastic - very creative and great use of local ingredients. But last time was my birthday so I decided to splurge on the bone-in rib-eye. I ordered it medium-rare and, in a first for me, the wait staff flipped on a flashlight in the dimly-lit room and asked me to cut into my steak to check the temperature. He then spotlighted my cut so that I could see clearly. In this case, the steak came in medium, and it was immediately whisked away and a new one prepared. The second time around it was perfect, and the manager came around to make sure it was OK. The wood-fired steaks were perfectly seasoned and beautifully charred on the outside. The meat was mouth-wateringly tender. I had mine Oscar style, and the crab sauce was divine - a fantastic accompaniment for he steak. It also came on a bed of perfectly crisp asparagus. For starters I had the fried avocado with crab - still one of my most favorite appetizer anywhere. Yea we paid a lot, but I loved every minute of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roaring Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.