We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The HHonors Weekend
Ranked #51 of 183 hotels in Austin
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was nice, large and clean. Good location and close to many of the popular areas. Nice breakfast in the morning. Worth revisiting. It's not the fanciest hotel in Austin, but on the other hand, it's not priced as one either. It's a good value!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    186
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
71
118
35
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My stay at the hotel was awesome and the location absolutely fantastic. Convienent to 6th St, nice restaurants, and a fabulous music scene. I also found the location and the area very safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location central to everything! We did not need to take a taxi the entire weekend. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. We were even able to eat outside on the patio. I am so glad we chose this hotel and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having to stay here due to a conference and needing a hotel within the proximity of the Convention Centre, we chose this place because of the reviews. It was a mix of business and pleasure. We were hoping for something better but the condition of the room left a bad taste in our mouths. Here is what we thought we the pros and cons of the hotel.

OVERALL:
Pros: steps away from the Convention Centre, Congression Bridge (bats!), great restaurants (Crave was really, really a hit with us). Staff is on the ball, pleasant and attentive. Elevators are fast. Self-serve laundry available (5th floor, $1.50 for wash, $1.00 for drying). You can buy detergent and fabric softener in the room. A children's museum is being built nearby and there is a fun, eclectic toy store too (Toy Joy). I think it's a great location for family travel.

Cons: Wish there was somewhere else we could park overnight. $25/night is expensive! Might not be a bad idea to have a list of nearby restaurant with hours included. We were directed to a restaurant and after walking there we discovered that it was closed. Dryer doesn't dry completely. Even after 45 minutes, some of the clothes were wet. Though may have been my bad if I didn't clean the filter.

BREAKFAST:
Pros: complimentary. Good assortment (oatmeal, make-your-own grits, eggs various ways, various days, juice station, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, yogurts, etc.). We particularly liked the waffle option and the fresh grapefruits! Yummy. Coffee/tea (station) was good and there was a lot of teas to choose from. Loved the different food on different days. Loved the breakfast to go at the front desk which offered a brown-bag breakfast containing an apple, cereal bar and water. Great idea.

Cons: can't really think of any.

ROOM:
Pros: Lots of plugs to charge your electronics. Lighting is sufficient. Nice decor.

Cons: Floor was filthy. The carpet is definitely in need of some cleaning. We walk around barefooted and our feet were black the entire stay. AC blasts from one side of the room and doesn't circulate well so the entrance is humid and stuffy, while the other side is FREEZING. Mould lined our bathtub walls. Shower screen smelled rancid. House keeping missed our room a couple of times. Also when we called front desk (twice) to ensure they replaced a comforter which had stains (blood?) on it and emptied our overflowing garbage bins they didn't show up. Important note, they don't line the bins with a plastic bag so for those who want to dispose of anything that may be considered gross (e.g. used sanitary napkin, used condoms, soiled diapers, etc.) just remember the guest before you may have disposed of the same thing so wash your hands after if you've touched the bins.

Room Tip: Our room (1110) overlooked the outdoor pool. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hampton Inn a good in-between SoCo/Rainey/6th Street areas. We were able to walk to all which was super convenient. Very friendly staff, Fitness Center had the basics for a good travel work-out and good beds!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel gives the consistent Hampton Inn experience. I didn't have the breakfast so I cannot speak to that, but the room size, cleanliness, fitness room, and friendly staff were on par with what I am used to seeing at Hampton Inns. The location of the hotel is great as far as being close to the major points in Austin. It's less than a mile to most of the South Congress stuff and you can walk to Rainey St. It's close enough to 6th St to get there very easily, but far enough away to not be in the middle of the noise, if that is a concern. There are chain restaurant options right by the hotel (PF Changs, Eddie V's, etc) but you're completely within walking distance of local hot spots as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service. Friendly staff. Great location. Attended RTX conference with son in area. Numerous restaurants nearby. Taxi not expense from airport to get to hotel. Austin people were laid back and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#51 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.