We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired, a little loud, a little hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #90 of 184 hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little tired, a little loud, a little hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This property is a decent business hotel, but the listed street address makes it difficult to find if you don't know Austin well. Hats off to the front desk clerk who took two phone calls from me and guided me in. The hotel is close to Mopac Expressway and I could hear vehicles buzzing by. I was disappointed to find only Styrofoam coffee cups in my room and, as usual, this is another Marriott property or franchise property that only offers Pepsi products. My small room was appointed with dark furnishings, but the bed was reasonably comfortable and the air conditioner (a floor unit) worked well. Breakfast was good with lots of variety and everything was clean. Meh.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face Mopac and get as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear TravelTexasSyle,
Thank you for being a contributor on TripAdvisor and for submitting a review on our hotel here in northwest Austin.

We recommend that every guest insert the hyphen when inputting our address in a GPS locator, so our address would be 11201 N Mo-Pac expressway, Austin TX 78759. We are on the northbound access road, just north of Braker lane. It is a great location once you are able to find us and get your bearings down.

You correctly indicated that all Marriott hotels regardless of ownership are required to use Pepsi products. We have a longstanding relationship with Pepsi and we are thankful to have a great partnership with them. The styrofoam cups are also a Fairfield Inn brand standard.

Thanks for being our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
20
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A friend and I had rooms next door to one another. The rooms were more spacious than I expected and very clean. Comfortable beds, nice closet space, good bathroom design. The breakfast area was relaxing and the choices were diverse. We relaxed in the pool, which was very clean and well-stocked with towels.

Yes, there is a railroad track nearby. If that sort of thing disturbs you, you might want to ask for a higher floor. I didn't even notice the trains after the first hour in the room.

My one suggestion would be that their "Fairfield Inn" sign needs to be closer to the road or else the bushes in front of it should be trimmed. It's really hard to see, and if you miss it then you have to go all the way under the highway to try again.

Room Tip: Be aware that there's a railroad track next door and ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's only few km away from downtown (30 min by car), so at least you don't have to deal with crowded places and traffic jam. It's clean, comfortable and has a quite good breakfast service. Offers even a shuttle service to/from the airport and you can even reserve a shuttle for any city destination.
Overall a worth price/quality value.

Room Tip: There's no restaurant inside the hotel but you could reach the close Domino neighbor where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this location is wonderful, the beds are really comfy, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is much more than continental. For those reasons, I might stay here again. However, it is a difficult location to get in and out of to the freeway and the noise from the road is just awful...weekdays and weekends. I think SpringHill Suites across the road is a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JoinTexas,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin Northwest. We really appreciate the top marks and the feedback.

The service road on Mo-pac expressway does not continue northbound outside of our hotel location and that does confuse and disappoint our guests. We do have different ways of tackling the location challenges and we would love to have your repeat patronage.

We hope you have a productive summer and please come see us again in Austin.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed here several times for business trips. The location might seem kind of weird to some, but it's close to shopping and restaurants, and to many of the businesses need to visit when I'm in the Austin area. It has easy access to several major highways. It's also very close to The Domain.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Yes, there's a train that rumbles by occasionally, but thankfully the horns to not blow. I only noticed it when I was awake. There's free wi-fi, and plenty of outlets to charge various electronics. And the fitness room is adequate for a descent workout.

Breakfast was fine, with a pretty good selection of what you would expect to find at most hotels of this rating.

Would I go back? I probably will sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Shutter bug,

We appreciate the top marks and especially since you are a top contributor to TripAdvisor and a very seasoned traveler.

We also would agree that the northwest section of Austin is a great mix of retail, restaurants and corporate offices. Other than downtown, we would consider our hotel in a very nice hub where IBM and Google also have their offices.

Thank you for staying with us and we expect to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 1 night on Memorial Weekend just to get away and take advantage of a free night certificate we had earned last summer. We stayed in a suite with 2 double beds which was very spacious on the 4th floor. It was clean, nice and quiet. The beds were comfy but the pillows were not. (Bring your own if you are picky.) Breakfast in the morning had lots of choices with hot eggs and sausage. For the eggs, they not only had picante sauce but grated cheese! Just like home! We did not use the pool. The pool is nice but small. A nice stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TXmom95,

Thank you for visiting us here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum.

We also appreciate you using your Marriott Rewards points for a complimentary night stay and we were happy to read that it was a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We noticed that the pillows were not to your satisfaction and we are in the process of upgrading all of our pillows to the new Marriott standard and that will be a larger and fuller pillow versus the old standard.

Thank you for being a Marriott Rewards member and we hope that you will come back to see us again soon in Austin.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel will be better than you expect for a Fairfield. Cleaner, great help at the front desk and in the morning with food. Not on the bed bug registry (and I did not see any). You will see several complaints about the train noise, I personally did not really care about it. The location is funky though. You could hit a really great mall with several places to eat with a 3 wood, however, you can not walk there. The train tracks are in the way. I would not stay here without a car. You are trapped between a highway and the tracks as a pedestrian.

Room Tip: You will have to pick highway noise or rail road noise. The train runs about once every three hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear DJFresh,

Thank you for staying with us in Austin and for giving us your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I can understand why you would call our location weird since the well known popular slogan is "Keep Austin Weird." We have one of the most popular geographic locations in the city of Austin being next to the Doman and very close to the Arboretum.

I totally agree that we would love to have a bridge or walking access to the Domain since we are so close. We do have complimentary transportation to the Domain.

Thank you for pointing out how clean the hotel was and the friendly staff and great breakfast. We are continually trying to improve to give you the best and most comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 184 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.