We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freight Train” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Freight Train”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed here because a family member had reserved a discount block of rooms for a wedding. I read the other reviews first and knew about the train, but got the impression it was some kind of toy. It is a freight train. The hotel staff seems oblivious to it. It goes by about every hour during the night and blows the whistle and you can hear the rumbling. It is only about 200 feet from the hotel. The other side of the hotel is near the highway, but our relatives said that with the A/C running you could not hear the traffic. Choose the highway side. Otherwise, the staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. Breakfast was fine -cereal, waffles, yogurt.

  • Liked — Convenient to the event I was attending; not too far from downtown Austin
  • Disliked — Location near rails; somewhat hard to get to from highway, but that's Texas for you
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
20
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEES SUMMIT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

This was my second stay at Fairfield Inn Northwest and it was as pleasant as the first. When I booked the room for Jan 19th the rate was $69 each night until the night of the 21st when it jumped to $127. So, I just booked the room online for the 19th and 20th. On the morning of the 21st, I asked the hotel desk if I could stay one more night at the discounted rate and they were very nice in agreeing to the extra night at $69.
I stayed in room #107. Both times I have stayed here, my room was on the first floor, west side - so I don't know anything about the trains mentioned in earlier reviews.
If you stay when the hotel is offering the discounted rate, it is a real bargain.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

The Fairfield Inn NW on the Mo-Pac is well located for this author's purposes; convenient to 183 via Braker Street and restaurants. Do not miss Sushi Sake if you like sushi, see that review.

The staff is friendly and well-trained, and they recognize Marriott Elite members on return visits. The morning breakfast staff is quite good, although breakfast is really not adequate and not up to Marriott's standards.

Trains.

The rooms are nicer than most FairField Inn rooms, well-appointed and maintained. This author has never had any issues with facilities or rooms at this Fairfield Inn.

Trains.

Breakfast eggs. The eggs are powdered, the sausage and bacon are unrecognizable. Forget it and go out to eat. There are plenty of good places close, though, so no worries.

Trains.

This hotel would be much better without the train set in the backyard. The train set is very realistic and runs all night long on the east side so try and get a room on the west side - though the author has never been successful.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

This is a good hotel. I had my room paid by someone else so I don’t know how much of a good value it is. It was clean and the staff was courteous. I had a suite and it was a good size and had a big bathroom (the light above the mirror was out, though). The breakfast was good, and complementary. The lady in charge of the breakfast area did a great job at making sure that they hadn’t run out of anything. That weekend was cold in Austin so they had packets of cocoa out all day long. I told the front desk lady that my roommate needed more towels, and she immediately took them upstairs. Also, their shuttle drivers were very nice.
On the bad side, the elevator was slow and at the same temperature as outdoors (freaking cold). There was some construction outside, so the beeping of the machinery woke me up one morning. One of my classmates was complaining about a train that runs just behind the hotel.

They had the outdoors pool and hot tub open, which I thought was nice. Overall I had a good experience. Nice staff, and the fireplace in the lobby came in handy during such a cold weekend.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.