We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railroad Tracks, really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #89 of 184 hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Railroad Tracks, really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The price was right, but I should have known there was a catch. Our window was 10 yards away from an active railroad line. Every 2 hours trains went by. And the air conditioner was loud. If you can sleep through the noise, it is a clean property with free full breakfast. Lots of other options in the area if you can't.

Room Tip: Away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving your feedback. We strive to assure that every guest has the best possible stay. We provide a full hot breakfast, a managers night with live music/food/drinks, we have shuttle service that will take you anywhere in a five mile radius, we also provide a clean and friendly place to stay. Our location is close to everything that you need, other than the train. We are close to many companys, shopping areas and restaruants. If you would like to stay with us again, the front of the building is a little more quite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
20
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a nice new hotel, convenient to the highway, free parking, free breakfast - what you expect from a Fairfield Inn & Suites. The interior of the room is oddly not as spacious as it should be with a giant wall in the center separating the living and slipping areas.

The real problem is the noise. On one side is mopac, a busy highway, on the back side is the railroad. You choose your punishment. Of course if you are on the first floor you have the added noise of the parked cars,

Room Tip: I would chose the mopac side, as the windows are decently insulated.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are in a busy area and have a lot going on around us. I apologize for any inconvenience. Please ask for the front of the building upon check in. It is quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you have work in the North area of the city, this is a great place to stay. Very efficient and helpful staff. Although the property is locted next to the highway, its very quiet. Several eating places close by too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the Austin area. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend, Oct. 11th - 14th. We were extremely pleased with the staff, breakfast, and our room. The staff was helpful and friendly at all times. Even when we asked for paper plates and forks around midnight one night! The breakfast was awesome, and cooked really well. And our room was great with a super comfy bed. We noticed the high ceilings immediately and were later told that only the bottom floor had them. It added a somewhat different/nice feel to the room. Oh, we also thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub. We thought for sure it would be closed when we decided we wanted to get in it around 11pm one night. But no, the pool area was open and the hot tub was on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the full hot breakfast and the hot tub. I enjoy the nice open feel of the rooms as well. We have a great staff to assure that you get the cleanest and friendliest stay possible.

Thank you

Brandon Heidkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our king suite was smaller than those at other properties, but we liked the furnishings and it was clean and comfortable. Highlights include the proximity to the Domain, spacious and attractive lobby and breakfast areas, and moderate prices for suites. We appreciated the pleasant and efficient front desk associate who, unprompted, made sure to provide us with a room furthest away from the train tracks. The fitness and pool areas were cozy and cramped, but we were able to enjoy them fully during non-peak hours (check-out times between 10:30 - 12). The property met our basic business needs and we would return.

Note that if you're driving to the Domain, you cannot directly access the shopping center from the hotel (though it appears that way on most maps) and as such, it's convenient to come from the center but not as easy to get to it.

Room Tip: As mentioned, ask to stay in a top floor room away from the train tracks and elevators/stairwells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you were able to get in a suite away from any noise. Next time you stay with us please use the shuttle, it can take you to and from the Domain for shopping.
It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the exercise room and pool. I look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the domain. It was nice little place to stay, just make sure you don't miss the hotel as it's easy to miss the turn. The rooms were smaller than I had imagined, but I slept comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the Austin area. I hope that you were able to take the shuttle over to the Domain while you were shopping.
I understand that the turn to get into the hotel is easy to miss. I will work on a way to make that easier.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Fairfields are reliable places to stay. This one is a little difficult to get to so pay attention to the directions. It's easy to miss the turn and have to go around again. Despite a hotel full of little leaguers our room was quite. We had upgraded to the slightly larger room. The smaller one would have been really cramped with all our gear. Breakfast included the usual waffle maker, also eggs and a different meat every day and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am glad that you and your team stayed with us while playing in the Austin area. It is easy to miss the turn, I apologize for that.
I am happy to hear that you and the team were able to get the full hot breakfast. Our suites are larger and have the additional tv that make it nice for teams or parents that can watch something else.

Thank you,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 11201 N. Mopac Expressway, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 184 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.