We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13858 N US Highway 183, Austin, TX 78750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #125 of 187 Hotels in Austin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Affordable and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Having visited other Extended Stay Hotels in Austin over the years I think that this is probably my worst experience.
Like with all the hotels, this is affordable, offers well equipped large rooms and is in a good location; unlike others I've used this has laundry facilities and a free grab and go breakfast (coffee, fruit, cereal bars) which are both great for the price.
Where this hotel failed for me was the cleanliness of the rooms, there was dried blood on my bed spread, half eaten containers of food in the refrigerator, two trash bags filled with food left under the sink and empty shower gel containers in the bathroom; I discovered all these things over the first couple of days so reported them at different times, although they were sorted out I think the staff could have been a bit more apologetic as they didn't seem that bothered.
I had asked for a non smoking room but when I first entered the room there was a definite smell of smoke, along with the other issues (and dubious splatter marks up the side of the armchair) I just felt that my room hadn't been cleaned properly before I moved in.
However, I had friends staying in other rooms who had no problems with cleanliness so I think I was just unlucky; I would say that between the air conditioning units, the refrigerator and the freeway it wasn't the most quiet of rooms but I'm a light sleeper so others may not have any issues
Despite my problems if I was ever up in this area of Austin again I would definitely stay here, it's good value for a comfortable room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about the comfort and value of your room; however, we apologize that your room was not properly cleaned before your check-in. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have reviewed the issues you brought to my attention with my housekeeping and supervising staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We will be sure to pay more attention to detail during both housekeeping services and room inspections prior to arrivals to avoid this issue in the future.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly, at anw@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
3
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Double check your reservation price. I extended my stay by one day prior to arrival and was charged a higher price for the entire stay. It took several calls to correct. I also was not credited a coupon discount at checkout until I reminded the clerk (I was told it would be automatic). Desk staff acted like I was bothering them. I never got a smile or greeting at any point during my stay. They acted like they didn't want to work there. Furniture was chipped, there were rust stains in the tub, and the kitchen water filter was missing (although a fridge magnet had instructions on how to use it). The AC stopped functioning at one point, as did the Internet. Both were eventually fixed. Guests walking around upstairs woke me up. Very loud. Try to stay on an upper floor. Remember to bring your own coffee. Only one day is provided. There is a snack machine but it only takes $1 bills. Like most Extended Stay hotels, you'll have to go to the desk regularly for toiletries, paper, etc. unless you bring your own. This is a no-frills hotel with poor service but, for the price, it's still a good value.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor or you'll have booming of guests staying above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Larry - Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you experienced issues with our internet service and amenities. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are addressing the customer service issues with our front desk team as well as having our maintenance staff follow up on the concerns you brought to our attention.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at anw@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pros:
Staff was friendly and helpful
The room was large
Room included kitchen (full sized refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishes and utensils)
Complimentary breakfast bar
Free wifi access
Free parking
Location was convenient (right off of the main interstate through Austin)

Cons:
internet videos were slow to play on wifi
no pool and exercise room
Breakfast bar was very small
The AC/heater was noisy
I could hear people walking in the room above us
I could hear the water pipes from the room next to us
There was a continuous bright flash from a ceiling detector
There were not many channels available on the tv
The bed pillows were very firm/uncomfortable
The bed comforter smelled bad so I assume this was not clean when we checked-in
Bed comforter was uncomfortable
We found dirty, used tissues underneath the bed.
The bathroom shower floor was dirty/uncleaned when we checked in
The showerhead had a leak and was spraying water on the drywall.

I believe the rate is 79.99 a night, which is not worth it in my opinion. I will never stay here again if I come back to Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about your room and all of the amenities we had to offer; however, we apologize that you encountered issues with your room and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will be conducting more detailed room inspections and looking more carefully for common maintenance issues during that time moving forward to make sure your experience is not repeated.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I invite you to contact me, at anw@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

For the price, a good value. The room is large and very comfortable. I enjoyed having a refridgerator and microwave however; the room had an overwelming lysol/pine-sol smell that I found out later was from having the carpets cleaned. Also, there was no wastebasket in the room and I had to ask for toilet paper. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies again for the overwhelming smell of cleaning products in your room. However, we are delighted to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a convenient location for our visit to family in the US-183 / Anderson Mill / Texas 45 toll road area. Comfortable and clean room with all the basics and a fairly good value for a good night’s sleep. We will be back soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Lelan - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel's location and your clean, comfortable room. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a room for 2 nights through Priceline "Express Deals" without knowing the name of the hotel. While we got a good price, it was not worth the savings. We do not smoke and do not want to be around smoke, but received a smoking room when we arrived. When we asked if there was any way to get a non-smoking room, we were rudely told that the hotel was full and this was all that was available. This may have been since our reservation paper read "PRICELINE - LOW" in big letters on the top. When getting out of the elevator on the fourth floor, which I guess is where all of the smoking rooms are located, a wall of odor hits your wall. After just two nights all of our clothes reek of smoke. I was tempted to go elsewhere (and just pay for the smoking room we weren't using) and should have.
The air conditioner was loud, especially when starting up. It was loud enough to wake me up when it cranked up at night.
The "Free wifi" works adequately, but beware, the free included wifi is pretty slow by today's standards. To get more usable wifi you must pay for the upsell that bombards you when you log onto the hotel wifi. This should be made clear up front I think. By the way, the paid upcharge internet is the default when you login, so be careful you don't click through too quickly and get charged if you don't want to.
The "free breakfast" advertised by Priceline was also pretty inadequate. Breakfast includes free coffee, oatmeal packets, oatmeal bars, and apples and oranges. This is below even the "Continental Breakfast" other budget chains provide. While Extended Stay doesn't seem to misadvertise this too much, Priceline definitely is.
Unfortunately, this was not a happy experience for us and we will definitely not return to this property. I'm also pretty unhappy with Priceline for the experience as well and am definitely considering my future business through them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am so disappointed that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. I also apologize that the information regarding our property on Priceline does not match the information we provide to our guests. To prevent this from happening again, we will be contacting Priceline to edit the information provided on their website so it is accurate moving forward.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please feel free to contact me directly, at anw@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Looking for a place to sleep and shower, nothing fancy then this is the place. Kitchenettes offer flexibility for eating in or out. Perfect for a night or two when visiting NW Austin. Corner of Lakeline Mall and Hwy 183

Room Tip: Rooms on highway side are more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that our facilities were to your liking and that you enjoyed having an in-room kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall

Address: 13858 N US Highway 183, Austin, TX 78750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Austin
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Austin - Northwest - Lakeline Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.