We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, loud location, and sketchy people” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Austin South - Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin South - Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2707 Interregional Highway South, I-35 at Exits #230/232-A, Austin, TX 78741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 182 hotels in Austin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small rooms, loud location, and sketchy people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010 via mobile

I'll get the good out first...the room seemed very clean, and the staff was friendly, especially when I cancelled my second night. Ok , now the bad. The previously mentioned clean room was extremely small. I got only 45 minutes of sleep the only night I stayed there due to the loud i35 traffic, the constant milling around of people in the parking lot, and phone calls to my room from strangers. The people outside were cursing at each other and fighting at 4am. I thought to myself, "please God have these people work out a compromise soon." As for the calls to my room, they were from a woman who said her name was Nicole. the best I could guess is that she was soliciting lewd acts. I never stayed on the phone long enough to find out. I could only imagine that a woman cold calling motel 6 rooms for business, is probably not drumming up many sales from her looks or talent. With all this going on simultaneously, it made the motel seem unsafe. I had my pocket knife at the ready just in case. Anyway this place is creepy, loud, and I would not recommend.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    8
See reviews for
2
2
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My family got a room with a nice view of the dumpster. A few mattresses had been tossed out next to it, which was reassuring. The non-smoking room had a clean appearance, with a relatively new wood floor, probably owing to the problem of cigarette butts burning the carpet. Nothing to startle at first sight. However, the paper-thin construction of the building made sleeping difficult, because sleep had to compete with the magnified sounds of bison hooves from upstairs. I tried counting the cigarette burn holes on the nylon underside of the mattress, but I still woke up easily when the shower stall started to leak at four in the morning. Somebody was taking a shower---or distilling gin---and water was leaking heavily from upstairs into our bathroom. It pooled in the shower stall and smelled like an Eighties' perm parlor and rotten eggs. I opened the door to air out the room (although it was a freezing night). There were a couple of people in the parking lot just standing there, staring in, interested. When I called the desk, the young lady was sympathetic and amazed, but unable to help. The Motel 6 customer service representative was also sympathetic, and I am assured that a report will be duly filed. Big deal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I like the value of Motel 6 as well as the expected sameness of one to another. When staying at someplace like a Motel 6, all we are looking for is a clean room to spend the night in. We have stayed at all three Hotel 6s in Austin at one time or the other, but never again at this one. Do not care how low the cost is if I can't get any sleep.

We stayed in the room above the lobby, next to the stairs. The door was sprung to the point that we could easily follow the conversations of people standing out on the balcony chatting at 2:AM - unless the noise from I35 drowned them out. In the morning I could see, not just daylight, but the sky was visable from inside the room around the sprung door. Complaining at the front desk didn't do a bit of good.

Stay away from this hole.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I really had reservations about staying here. I had already booked before I read some of the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised however. The room was exceptionally clean and the staff was very helpful. I bought the wi-fi connection and had no problems with it. I brought my cat and that was great. The only two suggestions I would make to the staff is to have TVs that I can hook my dvd player into and have shampoo in the shower. I forgot my shampoo and there is not really a gas station close. However the diner in the same parking lot is a plus. The only thing that shocked me was how small the room was but I have never stayed in a motel, only hotels, so it is probably a regular sized room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
good ole usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

truck broke down in austin, just my luck, while some kind of music festival in town. when rooms were hard to find in area the staff here found a way to let me stay in room. i have stayed in better motels, and seen worse. if on a budget would be the place to stay, no frills though. worst drawback was road noise from i-35

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I'm very happy to be here! Last night I stayed somewhere else, paid twice as much for a room that was not entirely clean and was too close to the road.. This place has cold air-conditioning, my room is very clean, it's pet friendly, the staff is very nice and provides good service and the pool is clean. I would definitely stay here again. It's a good value for the money. Good strong wireless connection. New pergo type floors instead of carpet makes for an overall cleaner room. I'm not scared of the bedding which looks, feels, smells nice and clean. I'm happy.

  • Liked — Clean rooms/property and friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for one night and the motel was decent. The wireless internet signal where we were (and paid $2.99 for) was very weak and was in and out, so I would not recommend paying for it. There are a lot of wi-fi hotspots in Austin, so go for those, including a Starbucks not too far from the motel. Otherwise though, it was clean and comfortable, as was the pool. The service was friendly as well. No loud noise, and it appeared the rooms had been recently renovated (maybe in the past year or two). Not the Ritz, but certainly a good stay for a night if on a budget, was my friend and I were. Convenient too - right off of I-35.

  • Liked — Cheap, clean, comfortable, convenient.
  • Disliked — Poor internet access, no breakfast in the morning.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Austin South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin South - Airport

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin South - Airport Hotel Austin
Motel 6 Austin South - Airport Hotel
Motel 6 Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel Six
Austin Motel 6
Address: 2707 Interregional Highway South, I-35 at Exits #230/232-A, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin South - Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Austin South Airport is located less than 5 miles from Austin Bergstrom Airport, LBJ Library, Texas Capital and Governor’s Mansion. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor unheated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Austin South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Austin South - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Austin South - Airport to your Saves list