We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas to your Saves list
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 188 Hotels in Austin
Bend
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super clean and nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I travel for business about 150 night per year and this has to be one of the cleanest most well kept motel 6 I have ever stayed at. Rooms all remodeled inside and outside the hotel is pristine. The location is great and close as well. Staff here is well trained for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I took my daughter to go see Imagine Dragons at the Frank Erwin Center there in Austin but little would I have known that Cedar Fever would hit me. After the concert I would not make it back alive the way I was feeling and at the last minute I checked in by a nice associate there who gave me a room. Not bad at all it was very decent especially for last minute check in. But I liked it...it was right next to I-35 (main highway) and the people there for very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The employees Michael, Angel, Gina are very accomodating, friendly,courteous, and just plain nice. Makes one feel like they matter. Milton the manager trained them well. His employees represent him and Motel 6 the way it should be. I travel alot for work and have frequented this motel for many many years. Will continue to do so . 2 thumbs up for management and staff!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

But if you want to stay more than two days? Run...

The room was as plain as you could possibly get. The hardwood floors were almost put in as fast as possible (maybe they raced?). I didn't walk on it after I took a shower, instead scooted across the floor with my towel. After getting in bed, the towel was black on the side touching the floor.

Comforter was something from a garage sale, clean, but I had to laugh at it... and speaking of garage sale, I think the TV came from one. I swear, it's not worth $5. The REMOTE was worth more. It was about a 12 inch tube TV from the 1990s.

There was no shampoo, conditioner, one bar of soap. The shower did have good pressure but the way the show curtain was installed, much of the water found itself on the floor. Pretty amazing actually.

If you want a place to just crash for the night, it's fine. If you want a place to stay a couple of days? No way in hell. I guess since they put stone on the outside of the hotel instead of the old basic look they up'ed the price $10-15? The lady at the front desk was VERY nice. That was the one thing that was good about this Motel 6. Of course, it's Motel 6 so why should I expect too much :)

Room Tip: Find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place was horrible. Roaches in the bed! Filthy floors! Leaking sewage from the toilet! Thugs hanging out drinking in the parking lot in the middle of the night! The GM was not suprised or concerned when we checked out the next day and demanded a refund.
There are lots of hotels in Austin. Pick another place.

Room Tip: Try Priceline, "Name your price" for Austin. Austin is a small town. Where ever you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I drove up and was really surprised. It really didn't look anywhere near as nice as the pictures made it out to be. There were a lot of people just hanging out infront of their rooms, kinda shady like. It is right on the highway and you can hear it. The wifi is pretty slow and you can only pay for it by going to the office. After two nights here I upgraded. It's clean but there isn't much to look at. The TV is like a 20" CRT, been a really long time since I've seen one. One weird thing was instead of exchanging the towels they just took them. Left me with just a hand towel after I had hung up the two I used. Prolly won't come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place was loud, noisy, and had very hard beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Address: 5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 188 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ Of Texas Hotel Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.