We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas to your Saves list
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 190 Hotels in Austin
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ROACHES!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place was horrible. Roaches in the bed! Filthy floors! Leaking sewage from the toilet! Thugs hanging out drinking in the parking lot in the middle of the night! The GM was not suprised or concerned when we checked out the next day and demanded a refund.
There are lots of hotels in Austin. Pick another place.

Room Tip: Try Priceline, "Name your price" for Austin. Austin is a small town. Where ever you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
8
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I drove up and was really surprised. It really didn't look anywhere near as nice as the pictures made it out to be. There were a lot of people just hanging out infront of their rooms, kinda shady like. It is right on the highway and you can hear it. The wifi is pretty slow and you can only pay for it by going to the office. After two nights here I upgraded. It's clean but there isn't much to look at. The TV is like a 20" CRT, been a really long time since I've seen one. One weird thing was instead of exchanging the towels they just took them. Left me with just a hand towel after I had hung up the two I used. Prolly won't come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place was loud, noisy, and had very hard beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Never had an issue with the front office, but if I had known the condition of the area I would not have booked here with kids. This Motel 6 is located right off the I-35, so depending on where your room is, you might not get the best sleep (my room was right by the freeway, and I constantly heard trucks breaking, and cars racing throughout the night). It was extremely hard communicating with housekeeping because they understood very little English (had to play charades for some of the things I was asking for). Taking my dog out at night made me feel like I was living back in the ghetto, I saw some pretty shady guys, and some promiscuously dressed girls/women. The internet connection is also extremely slow, and not worth the $3/day fee.

In regards to the room, the wood flooring was nice. The door, though, was not properly sealed, so bugs got in through the bottom, along with LOTS of water when people came by to hose down the walkway. The bathroom hinges were also rusty, and the door was extremely hard to open and close (and couldn't be locked at all).

On the plus side, a lot of shopping areas are close by, and there was no pet fee for having my dog with us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This motel 6 is just wonderful. It is new, very clean and the appointments in the room go way beyond what I would have expected in a motel. Many hotels I have stayed in are not as roomy and as well appointed. The room even has a ceiling fan and a selection of pillows for sleeping. Breakfast buffet in the morning was great and had just about anything anyone would have wanted for breakfast. Owners and employees are very nice. Plan to stay there whenever I go back to Austin, TX regardless of where I have business in the city. The traffic to get there is more than worth the wonderful stay..

Room Tip: Make a reservation early, they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This location is right off of the highway...so it is very noisy and we were woken several times by trucks using their air brakes in the morning. Our room had wood floors and was nice by Motel 6 standards. The man at the front desk (night window, actually) was very friendly but I wish he had offered a room on the back side of the motel. That would have helped with the noise. Overall the stay was good for the weekday price (weekend was a little high) and the location was very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The primary reason I would never stay there is the lack of service. The front desk woman, GINA, is nasty, inattentive and extremely rude! She never made eye contact and wanted you to talk to her while she was doing other things. If you didn't she would make you wait. Very passive/aggresssive behavior. She made faces and was demanding of the patron! If you called from the room she just couldn't be bothered. She made you wait until she was ready to listen to you or help you with what was needed. Had I not needed to stay there for the tech conference I was at, I would have left! Everything around town was sold out. I ould NEVER recommend this motel because of the rude service by this woman Gina.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#106 of 190 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Address: 5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 190 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ Of Texas Hotel Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.