We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7400 IH-35 North, Austin, TX 78752 (St. Johns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #93 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    24
    19
    11
See reviews for
27
16
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I decided to stay here to get away from the noise and traffic in Downtown Austin.

The Hotel is in a fairly quite area, the rooms in the back are quieter, but be aware of walking around the outside of the Hotel.

The rooms have out dated furniture are badly in need of remodeling, as are the common areas. I noticed comments about bedbugs, but I did not have any in my room.

Breakfast was nothing special.

The ice machine is located on the first floor.

I think I will go back to the Downtown area, this Hotel is very marginal.

Room Tip: Try a room in the back to get away from the Interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I want to start off by saying how nice the staff are here. They are really professional and pleasant. Beyond the lobby, the room was a little shabby and was what I would say is borderline acceptable. It looks like the place could use a little remodeling... although it didn't look very old, just not well maintained. Granite was cracked, wallpaper in the bathroom loose likely bc the fan in the bathroom wasn't working and alarm clock didn't keep time. Our toilet was coming loose from the wall. Breakfast was ok, nothing extraordinary, large selection of mediocre foods. I'd say that there are probably better hotels available if you aren't there during a busy time. This was booked solid. I pointed out the room issues to the staff at check out just so they could be fixed and to my surprise they gave me a small discount. Again the staff were excellent and it's not their fault the property needs some maintenance. Also the cookies in the lobby were a hit with my son. The 24 hour coffee a hit with my husband.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_astn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We did have a chance to get in the room and fix those issues. We are under full renovation. We will continue to update the hotel and would love to have you back. We love having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was there last week with several friends. Three out of five of us now have bed bugs. Between the five of us, we had two rooms. One guest from the first floor has them. Two from our room on the second floor. Everyone watch out and check your beds.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_astn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We have bi weekly pest control that includes bed bugs. In fact we had him out to inspect these rooms and found not one sign of Bed Bugs. We take these issues very seriously and will spare no expense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not stay here. It is a dumpster located in a sketchy part of town staffed by people who don't care. Pool? Filthy. Breakfast? About like Super 8. Room? Looks nice. Oh. Wait a minute! We got bedbugs. The only thing that made me happy with this stay was that Ingot my money back. Country Inn and Suites has been my favorite hotel for years. First bad experience, in fact. But it was really bad.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_astn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. As you can see by our other comments this is not the norm. I will address these issues with our team and assure you we do care very much about our guest and value your business. We would love another shot to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North

Address: 7400 IH-35 North, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Carlson and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Austin-North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North Hotel Austin
Country Inn Austin North
Austin Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.